Stroke function is Photoshop. Please help

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by macaddict23, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. macaddict23 macrumors 6502

    macaddict23

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    MacVille, USA
    #1
    I created a rectangular shape in Photoshop, selected it and applied a stroke with a "Location" of "Outside." For some reason, Photoshop is rounding off the corners, or mitering(sp) the selection. I've tried this at different resolutions, without any luck. And no, the selection is not feathered. Any clues? Thanks!
     
  2. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #2
    You get square corners when the stroke is on the inside!
     
  3. macaddict23 thread starter macrumors 6502

    macaddict23

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    MacVille, USA
    #3
    I know, I tried that. :) But there shouldn't be a reason why it would rounded when you specify the stroke to be "outside."
     
  4. mickhyperion macrumors regular

    mickhyperion

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    #4
    As a workaround, you might try inverting your selection before stroking, use the "inside" option, then manually erase the excess stroke from your inverted selection. That should give you square edges outside the selection you actually want. Probably best to work on a separate layer too.
     
  5. 20rogersc macrumors 65816

    20rogersc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #5
    Yes there is. The stroke is the same width all around the shape. So corners do curve when it is set to outside.

    ::20ROGERSC::
     
  6. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #6
    Yeah it's exactly like 20rogersc said.

    Sorry, but that is just the way strokes work in Photoshop.
     
  7. és: macrumors 6502a

    és:

    #7
    Just make your box bigger to the amount of pixels that you want your stroke to be, then use stroke location inside.

    Easy squeezy.
     
  8. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #8
    Create your selection, then choose "Select>Modify>Expand"
    Expand the selection by the stroke width, then use the stroke inside function.
     
  9. ChicoWeb macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Or you can copy the layer, and put it behind it then transform it to your required size. It's a cheap, but sometimes it faster then doing a lot of the things suggested.
     

Share This Page