Stuck At Restoring Custom Firmware

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by oglock, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. oglock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #1
    Sup everyone,

    Im having trouble restoring my custom 3.1 firmware which i created through PWNAGE tool. Im a macbook pro user with the 10.6.1 osx on it.


    Im trying to get the phone into DFU mode through pwnge tool but it just seems to stay on the screen "CONNECT DEVICE TO USB" ive manually tried holding the home and power button for 10 secs and then holding the home buttom for 10 secs. I tunes Does detect the phone in recovery. i then select my custom firmware file using the alt button then selecting the ispw. I get a error 1600 or sometimes 1604.

    Am i doing anything wrong?

    Thanks for the help
     
  2. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #2
    What device are you jailbreaking? If it's a 3GS, was it previously jailbroken?
     
  3. oglock thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #3
    yep its a 3gs and it was jailbroken. did the jailbreak but there was no carrier logo so did a bit of research and was told if your not bothered about a unlock you can update using the official firmware then jailbreak. i dont need a unlock to be honest
     
  4. darnovo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #4
    to update with the custome firmware you dont go into DFU mode, you go into recovery mode, they are different.... just hold the power and home button down together until the iTunes logo and usb cable appear... NOT A BLACK SCREEN.... then u should update...
     
  5. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #5
    Did you have your ECID on file with Saurik in Cydia?
     
  6. oglock thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #6
    ok ive put the phone into recovery mode. i switched the phone off and held the home button and insterted the usb cable in and itunes detected the phone in recovery mode.

    ive selected the customer firmware and now get error 1604 in itunes :confused:
     
  7. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #7
    I do believe that's where your problem is, currently there is no JB for those running 3.1 on a 3GS, for the 3G you can, but not the 3GS.

    For 3GS you ou have to be on JB 3.0 or 3.0.1

    If you have your info saved on Cydia, you can downgrade and JB and redo the process..

    Otherwise you'll have to wait and see when the Dev Team comes out with the tools to JB the 3GS running 3.1
     
  8. darnovo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #8
    are you currently on 3.0 and jailbroken? and when the iphone is detected in recovery mode is the screen black or have a iTunes logo and usb cable picture on it?
     
  9. oglock thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #9
    hmmm thanks for the replies guys im pretty sure my it was saved with cydia. is there a link on how to downgrade please?
     
  10. oglock thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #10
    i was on 3.0 and then i succcessfuly jailbroke it to 3.1. but there was no carrier logo so i did a bit of research and restored with the official 3.1 firmware because i dont need a unlock on the phone i use the orignal provider. im now trying to jailbreak it because i read that you can get the carrier logo back by using the official 3.1 then jailbreaking it :confused:
     
  11. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #11
    As of now the carrier logo is a known bug, there's an app you could have downloaded through cydia that let's you type in whatever you want for a carrier logo which is a simple fix to use..
     
  12. darnovo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #12
    i know your problem and you did WAY to much work.... when building the custom firmway you probably left the "active iPhone" button checked which will make it not connect to the carrier if you have at&t legit .....
     
  13. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #13
    Yeah, if you're on a 3GS you're going to have to downgrade to 3.0 if your info is saved to Cydia, then JB 3.0 and then go through the Pwnage process again, as of now, there's nothing you can do about the missing carrier logo, as I said, there's an app you can d/l through Cydia which is a quick fix if it bugs you that much.
     
  14. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #14
    Why would you have to downgrade? The Dev Team released Pwnage Tool for 3.1 that now supports 3GS iPhone's if your ECID was on file (I assume this is the "must have been pwned with 3.0 or 3.0.1" requirement). The OP stated theirs is on file so they hopefully shouldn't need to downgrade. :)
     
  15. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #15
    Because the OP made the mistake of restoring to the "Official" 3.1 update. You can't JB a 3GS running "official" 3.1 from apple.

    As far as I know, In order to JB, you have to be running JB, 3.0 or 3.0.1, d/l the 3.1 firmware and have Pwnage cook it and restore to that cooked ipsw.

    He's running official 3.1 on 3GS, he's going to have to downgrade to 3.0 or 3.0.1 JB that, and then redo Pwnage..
     
  16. oglock thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #16
    is there a guide anywhere on how to downgrade back to 3.0 please?:D
     
  17. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #17
    That's why I am wondering about the Dev team's "must be pwned at 3.0 or 3.0.1" requirement. To me this means that it needed to be pwned so that your ECID is on file. Since the ECID is already on file from a previous "pwning" I thought perhaps they'd be able to directly pwn a 3.1 firmware. I suppose someone will have to try. :)
     
  18. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #18
  19. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #19
    http://www.saurik.com/id/12#howto

    It's under the section "Performing the Restore"
     
  20. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #20
    All bets are off when you install "official" firmware updates from Apple..

    I've read different reports that the dev team is working on a JB tool that will allow 3GS devices running 3.1 to JB, but who knows when it will be released or if..

    I believe the ECID will come into play for "FUTURE" firmware updates. But as of now, for 3GS you have to be using JB 3.0 or 3.0.1 to move to JB 3.1 if you want 3.1

    There's many who are staying at 3.0 or 3.0.1.
     
  21. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #21
    Sounds logical. :)

    So one question then since I am pwned at 3.0.1 and interested in 3.1. Will 3.1 wipe my device? In otherwords, is it a "full restore" or an update like 3.0.1 was. It's annoying to load 32GB or data back on my device just wanted to see how involved the update to 3.1 was. :)
     
  22. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #22
    Welllll, that's the thing. I ran into that exact dilemma, from what I've heard, once you do the JB 3.1 process, the directions and different posts say you can then restore from the backup you created at the very first step of the process..

    But, to me that doesn't sound right, because if you upgrade to JB 3.1, but do a restore from the 3.0 created backup. I figured that it would render the 3.1 JB null and void.

    So I did setup my phone as a "new" phone and had to put everything back on there.

    But like I said, the directions and reports say, after the JB process you can do a restore to get all your data and everything on there.. I was just to chicken to trust it.
     
  23. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #23
    It's a "full restore."
     
  24. oglock thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #24
    hmm im trying to downgrade

    ive gone into the host file and added 74.208.105.171 gs.apple.com

    and ive got the iphone in dfu mode and trying to restore to 3.0 firmware

    it comes up with its not eligible for this firmware

    am i doing something wrong?
     
  25. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #25
    Your ECID/SHSH has to be on file with Cydia, did you click the link that Cydia had up a while back that said "Make my life easier"? if you didn't then chances are your info isn't saved to Cydia which means you're not going to be able to downgrade to 3.0.
     

Share This Page