Stuck on full progress bar!?!?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by blueshogun96, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. blueshogun96, Mar 19, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017

    blueshogun96 macrumors regular

    blueshogun96

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    #1
    I'm just now running into an issue and I have no idea what caused it. My Macbook was working fine earlier today when I was at a restaurant with my congregation, but after a bus ride home, I pull out the Macbook to get to work again, and suddenly I open it up to see nothing but a black screen with the cursor (and spinning beachball). I assumed it just froze, so I closed it back up and opened it again. This time I heard the disk drive and I got a grey screen telling me I need to restart, or let it restart automatically. Now when I try to start my Macbook, it won't go passed the progress bar!

    When the thing starts, it starts loading at a normal speed, then it loads slower and slower as it reaches the end of the progress bar. Then after it's full, nothing after that. This is a late 2008 Macbook Pro running El Capitan.

    I'd buy a new one, but after experiencing sporadic employment and roughly 7 months of lay off time, I can't afford it. Hell, a few thousand behind because of my leeching, drug addicted ex girlfriend and other expenses that I've struggled to pay for exactly a year from today. This is really heavy. My novel and the source code to some of my projects are on this Macbook. It'll be a while until I can afford even a newer used model thanks to the abysmal financial year of 2016 in my career and my idiot ex. Since I lack the hardware and HDD space to back up much of my work regularly (I can't even afford internet!) that's not always possible for me to do.

    Ugh, I can't believe this. I tried booting in safe mode, but unless I'm doing it wrong, then there doesn't appear to be any difference. Any other ideas? Hopefully I can still pull data from the HDD caddy if it's a total loss.

    Shogun

    EDIT: I took out the HDD, and plugged it into my Mac Pro. All the files appeared to be intact, thank GOD my novel and my cute-em-up game are okay.

    I tried booting my HDD in verbose mode, and I did get an error message of some sort, so I will post this when I get a chance. My first day at my new job is tomorrow and I need to get into the office early. Thanks again.
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    Buy an SSD.
    Doesn't have to be high-capacity, 240-480gb, whatever you can afford.
    Get an OS installed on it (El Capitan would be good).
    Put it into the MacBook.
    Should run much better...
     
  3. dianeoforegon macrumors 6502a

    dianeoforegon

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    If the drive is OK, you might be able to run it as an external drive if you put in an enclosure.
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    If the drive is ok then its likely the drive cable.
     
  5. blueshogun96 thread starter macrumors regular

    blueshogun96

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    #5
    I plugged in a different HDD running Win10, and it loaded up just fine. I'll try putting this HDD back in and see if it wants to boot or not.

    Shogun
     
  6. blueshogun96 thread starter macrumors regular

    blueshogun96

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    #6
    Okay, after resetting the SMC and and NVRAM, it works again. Everything appears to be back to normal.

    Shogun
     

Share This Page