Stuck on Step 6 at HacktheiPhone.com

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sorrycharlie, Dec 23, 2007.

  1. sorrycharlie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Stockbridge, Georgia
    #1
    Hey all!

    I'm trying to jailbreak my iPhone and I ran into a problem. I went to HacktheiPhone.com and I'm doing the "Unlock 1.1.2 (long method)" jailbreak using Windows. Here's the link: http://www.hacktheiphone.com/112/iph...k_windows.html

    I got all the way through step 6 up to the part where you install AppSnapp. After I clicked "Install AppSnapp" at Jailbreakme.com, it crashed like it was supposed to and went back to the "Activate iPhone" screen. However, that's as far as it went. It never rebooted and went to the SpringBoard. The screen just went black and never did anything until I'd press the home button and the "Activate iPhone" screen appeared again.

    So can someone help me get past this step? Should I start up iTunes and try to go through the whole process again, or will that brick my phone completely? What should I do? Please anyone. I'd greatly appreciate your assistance. Thanks! :)
     
  2. draperm25 macrumors regular

    draperm25

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Swansea
    #2
    i think you have to turn the phone off then back on, not sure mind?

    Sorry ignore this, lol
     
  3. draperm25 macrumors regular

    draperm25

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Swansea
    #3
    From Here


    Once Safari crashes it will send you back to the activate iPhone screen. Wait about 20 seconds and the slide to unlock animation should freeze, then the iPhone will reboot. You'll see the Apple logo, then you will be at the screen with the slide to unlock slider again. Slide it and you will be at the SpringBoard.
     
  4. sorrycharlie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Stockbridge, Georgia
    #4
    Yes, I waited and waited and waited, far longer than 20 seconds, and nothing ever happened.
     
  5. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #5
    Turn the phone on and then off!

    If it still isn't activated then do the process again using jailbreakme.com as apparently sometimes it doesn't work first time.
     
  6. sorrycharlie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Stockbridge, Georgia
    #6
    I tried again, but it didn't work. However, I think I found what may be the problem. In the F.A.Q. section at Jailbreakme.com, #5 says "I'm an AT&T customer, do I need this since it activates? AppSnapp is smart, if knows if you are an AT&T customer and doesn't try to activate if you already are activated."

    I've had an AT&T SIM in the phone throughout the whole process. Do I need to borrow a different carrier's SIM card from a friend and try it that way? Or is there a way I can still do it with the AT&T SIM card? Thanks for all the help, everyone. :)
     
  7. brando88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #7
    Do you know what your trying to do? You say you've had an ATT sim, but you are following directions to Unlock the phone?

    there's a HUGE difference between "Jailbreak" and "Unlock," which one do you really want to do....

    I just updated the guide on my site for a truly easy way to jailbreak a 1.1.2 iPhone.
     
  8. sorrycharlie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Stockbridge, Georgia
    #8
    Yes, I know the difference between jailbreaking and unlocking. I want to jailbreak the phone so that whoever I sell it to can use it to load whatever apps they want and so they can use AnySIM to allow the phone to be used with their SIM. Am I missing something?
     
  9. G4brat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #9
    Along the same lines...week 32, 1.1.2 ATT activated, jailbroken, unlocked.

    Hello all,

    So I've read all the FAQ and the all the Threads, but cant find an anwser to my issue. I appologize if its a repeat question!

    I have a week 32, ATT activated, updated 1.1.2, jailbroken (works great), and unlocked Iphone. I used the Hack the Iphone Updating, and unlocking 1.1.2 firmware method. The phone went throught the whole process to the end with no issues.

    http://www.hacktheiphone.com/112/iphone_update_112_unlock_windows_1_easy.html

    Here is my question/issue. I want to use the ATT service in the states, but I travel out of the country often and want to be able to use local SIMs. I have an active movistar SIM from El Salvador that works on my unlocked Moto V360, but when a put in into the Iphone it does not work. It shows no signal bars or "No Service" and when I change the country to El Salvador on Iworld, the phone reboots, but no change. I also used my girlfriends ATT SIM (RAZR V3) with same results. Any info will be appreciated.

    Merry xmas!
     

Share This Page