Student CS3->CS4

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by spyker3292, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    When CS4 comes out I'd love to upgrade. I bought the copy with some buy a Mac and CS3 student discount about a year ago. It doesn't say student. Just Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Standard. Nothing on the box says student.

    My main question is can I upgrade for the upgrade price (whatever that will be) or are students excluded from upgrades (like with Aperture).
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Yes, you can upgrade. It is the same software.

    TEG
     
  3. spyker3292 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
  4. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #4
    I can confirm that Adobe allows users of academic software to use regular upgrades to the "pro" software.
     
  5. mariahlullaby macrumors 6502a

    mariahlullaby

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    If you bought it with a student discount, it should somewhere say "Education Software" (small print on box, when you load the software...) and you won't be eligible for the upgrade price.
     
  6. shecky Guest

    shecky

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Location:
    Obviously you're not a golfer.
    #6
    you sure about that?

    Adobe pdf

     
  7. ismoker macrumors member

    ismoker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #7
    Heard that student version from adobe is no different than standard, and it is just the name of a promotion to give students some discounts :)
     
  8. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #8
    That is if you buy it from Adobe as a Student Version. Apple just sells the regular version at a student price, AFAIK. If the splash screens when you open the programs say student edition or academic version, then no, otherwise you'll be fine.

    TEG
     
  9. SwiftLives macrumors 65816

    SwiftLives

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #9
    In the past, a full educational version has been cheaper than an upgrade.
     
  10. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #10
    Mine doesn't say Student or Academic version on the splash screen, but the packaging does. Also, when I installed it I had to use an student license code that it came with. Other than that, it functions just as any other CS3 copy would.
     
  11. spyker3292 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    Nope. It's the normal version :D.
     
  12. flrazor macrumors member

    flrazor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #12
    Even if it is a branded academic version, you can still upgrade to a full ("pro") version of Creative Suite. The upgrade just looks for a prior activated installation of an Adobe product. I have done this from a branded academic CS to a full CS3 standard and it works just fine. The only reason it's academic branded is that you have to be a "qualifying student" at the time of purchase to get the discounted license (and it's good advertising to show they help students). There's no difference in the product licenses, both will allow you to upgrade the same.

    Academic copies sometimes (at least in the past they did) come with more tutorials and training so you can learn the software on your own alongside whatever training you are getting. The reason they bring up the commercial upgrade for "after graduation" was as stated previously that a full academic purchase is typically cheaper than an upgrade license, so if you're still a student you'd save more buying at the student price than getting the upgrade anyway.
     
  13. chillywilly macrumors 6502a

    chillywilly

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    #13
    This is good to know. When I'm ready for CS4, I'll have to remember this.
     
  14. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #14
    So Academic Superstore is reporting the academic full version price for CS4 Design Premium is $599.

    However, Adobe's site says the retail upgrade price for CS4 Design Premium is also $599.

    I guess since I already own CS3 Design Premium academic, I should just purchase the retail upgrade?
     
  15. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #15
    If you're still eligible for academic pricing, I would get the whole suite. That will increase your number of installs from 2 machines to 4 (one laptop and one desktop per license). Then later, when you no longer qualify for academic pricing, you have 2 creative suite licenses that have upgrade paths, instead of 1. I am assuming that since you asked about upgrades that you already own a version of creative suite.
     
  16. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #16
    Hah. Yeah I have quite a few licenses actually ...

    Creative Suite 1 (Academic, full)
    Creative Suite 2 (Academic, full)
    Creative Suite 3 (Academic, upgrade as my CS2 was purchased within a certain period)

    I e-mailed Adobe customer service, as my situation is somewhat complicated do to getting in on the "free" CS2 to CS3 upgrade.
     
  17. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #17
    Then, in your situation, I would go ahead and upgrade your CS1, as it will likely not survive the upgrade path when CS5 is released, just as PS7 was just knocked off the list. Unless at some point you feel you need 3 licenses (6 installs) and also still plan on upgrading that CS1 down the line during CS4's reign, for the above reason.
     
  18. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #18
    So, you're saying right now I have three eligible upgrade paths—CS1, CS2 and CS3.

    Since Adobe is charging the same price for upgrades for CS1, CS2 and CS3 (until February), I should upgrade my CS1.

    Then later on I could upgrade the other two to CS4 or future CS versions as they get phased out (provided Adobe keeps them upgrade eligible).

    That's a great idea. Thanks.
     
  19. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #19
    You have the gist, but you currently only have 2 eligible licenses - CS1 and CS2/3. You upgraded your CS2 license to CS3 - only one of those is upgradeable, as they're considered one license.

    I said 3 in my "Unless at some point..." scenario because the only reason you wouldn't upgrade CS1 now would be that you wanted to buy CS4 Education now, but still upgrade your CS1 before CS5 is released, thus giving you 3 licenses: CS1, CS2/3, and your new CS4.
     
  20. ErikAndre macrumors 6502a

    ErikAndre

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    I just called Adobe on this one.

    I have the Web Premium CS3 ACADEMIC. I asked if I could upgrade to the Design Premium CS4 RETAIL.

    He went and asked a supervisor and said YES. As long as I have the serial number of my ACADEMIC product when I order, they will upgrade it for the standard cost (currently listed at $599).

    He also said they will be shipping the software on 09/29/2008, but not to hold him to it.
     
  21. chillywilly macrumors 6502a

    chillywilly

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    #21
    This is good to know. Thanks for the confirmation.
     

Share This Page