student discount : instore or online? (UK)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by gilljoy, May 30, 2010.

1. gilljoy macrumors member

hey all,

im finally getting round to buying my macbook pro :)

going for the base 13" model and im just wondering whither its best to purchase instore or online? mainly as im wondering where i can get the best deal for the mac

going to take advantage of the free itouch and sell it to bring the price down.

also does anyone know a good place to get rid of a year n half old dell laptop?

thanks

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

3. gilljoy thread starter macrumors member

can you still get the discounted applecare?

4. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Are you a higher education student? If so, buy online or through phone as you get 3 year warranty for free

5. gilljoy thread starter macrumors member

yea im a university student. so if i buy it over the net i get a free 3 year warranty?

6. Ash9414 macrumors 6502

Ahh, so you can't get the 3 year extended warranty in-store? That kinda sucks. I was going to buy mine in an Apple Store so it would be easier to return if there were any problems with it. I guess you can't get a MBP replaced at an Apple Store if you ordered it online?

7. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

I'm not sure can you. You can only buy though your uni's network or through phone, it doesn't mention retail store anywhere

8. timsutcliffe macrumors 6502

Where?

Where does it say this? All I can find is the reduced price AppleCare which costs about £45 and you add it to the end of your order online.

9. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

I don't know where does it say that in Apple's site but it's true, see these threads

10. costabunny macrumors 68020

costabunny

give em a call 0800 072 1154 (open until 5pm)

They will confirm the warranty thing. I don't think there is an issue if buying online and having a problem - going to a retail store.