Student Discount Question. Must be over 18?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by theman, Jul 30, 2007.

1. theman macrumors 6502a

Hi, I am 17 years old, and I will be attending college next fall (I live in the US, btw). I have been planning on purchasing a new Macbook using the student discount, as I am enrolled, have student ID, and have already paid for a large chunk of my college education. However, I looked at the terms of the policy, and it says you must be 18 years old in order to get the student discount. I am on a very tight budget and I just will not be able to afford a Mac (I know, a tragedy), if I don't get the discount. I will end up getting one of those $500 dells or Walmart computers or something. Is this really true that even though I am a university student, I am not eligible for the student discount??? It's not my fault I am a freaking genius and am going to college a year early.... :p Also, will they even check if I buy online? If I go to the store they will probably check my age then right? Man, this makes me feel like I'm trying to buy cigarettes or something!

Please help me.... must have mac..... ahhh.....

:apple: :apple: :apple: :apple: :apple: :apple: :apple: :apple: :apple:

2. killmoms macrumors 68040

killmoms

You could just have your parents buy it online and you could pay them.

3. mr_matalino macrumors 6502a

mr_matalino

I've bought a Mac online using the student discount. You must certify that you are a student (which you have a student ID). They don't ask for any other information. I've even heard of people using the student discount when they are not students (dishonest, I know). If you want a bigger discount, check out the ADC student membership. It's $100 upfront but you get a 20% discount. You have to jump through a few more hoops (ie faxing over proof of enrollement from the school) but it's worth it. Search for it on the forms or google it.

4. theman thread starter macrumors 6502a