Student in need of help buying MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by astro123, Jun 15, 2012.

1. astro123 macrumors newbie

Hello all,

I have a very specific problem and I hope someone will be able to help me.
    I live in a small European country where first authorized apple seller (no apple store yet) started selling apple stuff not two years ago. This means that MBP prices are absurdly high.
    This summer I am planning a trip to the US and seeing the price difference I've decided to buy my MBP there. And my question is: am I eligible for student discount in an American apple store or does this apply only to people studying at an American college?
    Haven't found any info on apples homepage.
    Note that I am a student and do have a Student ID from my university (plus ISIC student ID...if that is any help at all).

Thank you for all the answers!

2. Ccrew macrumors 68020

Is getting a country specific keyboard going to be an issue for you? Can't purchase that in a US Apple store.

As to whether the store will honor the discount, yes, with an ID they *probably* will, although the EDU a US store operates on is US specific. See:http://store.apple.com/us/browse/open/salespolicies/edu But you also need to find out from Apple how they handle the warranty when you take it back home. Without saying where you're from it's impossible to be more specific.

3. Gregintosh macrumors 68000

A friend of mine also from Europe was here last summer and was able to get a student discount even with the European schools' ID. They couldn't find it in their system, so they just put him down as attending a school here and gave it to him. So I think you should be fine.