Student Prosumer Dilemma. Mac or PC.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by JayAr, Jul 21, 2011.

1. JayAr macrumors newbie

When I picked up my MacBook Pro about four years ago my plan was to refresh once I graduated from college as a film student. However after some life changing situations i've changed majors to game art and design, and after a year long break I'm still in school yet needing a computer with a bit more "umph".

Currently I've been looking over the new iMacs, in particular the fully upgraded (16 gigs ram, 2.8 GHz i7, 2TB HD) 21.5 inch one. However, my issue is that of cost and use. I'll be frequently using Adobe products (photoshop in particular), along with several 3D programs such as Maya and 3Ds Max. However since my background is in film I would like to continue using editing tools I grew up with (Final Cut or Premier Pro... the former being my preferred).

For programs like 3ds Max and UDK I would plan on using bootcamp, (not to mention for gaming on the side) however this new reliance on several Windows-only programs has me concerned if it wouldn't just be better to have a tower constructed that could be more powerful and a bit cheaper then the iMac+Windows7. I'm biased towards mac, especially for it's security and stability, but I can see a personalized tower potentially outlasting the mac with it's upgrade ability.

Thankfully my MBP is still running smoothly, however I would like to update in the next few months as currently my budget is well enough to afford such a hefty expense. Simply put, I'm looking for any suggestions for going either way, or any good advice for what I should be looking for with the type of work I'm studying into.

Thanks.

2. chaosbunny macrumors 68000

chaosbunny