Student Seeking MBP... in a complete stalemate

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by amvickers, Jul 13, 2007.

1. amvickers macrumors newbie

Alright, so I've been reading this forum for a couple months and just registered recently. I'm enrolling into college as a freshman and as a grad present my gramps offered up a 15" 2.4 GHZ MBP. I opted for the cash instead of the physical computer when I graduated, because at the time I was deadset on waiting until October. But after some thinking my current plan is to buy it now, so I can get the free printer and Ipod Nano rebates. Then, I'd sell my Ipod Nano and use the free $200 to justify upgrading to 200 GB, and save the other $100 for Leopard in October. Now, two questions:

1)Should I just wait for Leopard and forgo the free printer?

2)Is there really such thing as a voucher that I could potentially get that would let me upgrade to Leopard for free in the fall?

3) Is an external harddrive worth investing in for timemachine/music server purposes? It almost seems impractical to keep an external hard drive when the whole purpose of a laptop is mobility

Please respond I need some expertise.

2. andrewaclt macrumors newbie

1) no, buy now
    2) not currently, people are hoping though.
    3) yes, for backups aka time machine when you do upgrade to leopard. :)

3. CalBoy macrumors 604

CalBoy

Second that post. Good luck at college!:)

4. ktbubster macrumors 6502a

ktbubster

I second second both those posts :)