Students: Get your $29 version of Windows 7 PRO not home here

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by areusche, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. areusche macrumors regular

    areusche

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #1
  2. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #2
    Or you can call microsoft directly and get the full version for 30 bucks, either home premium or professional.
     
  3. xc runner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    #3
    So if I call Microsoft I can get the full upgrade version of windows 7 for 30 bucks? That would be great because then I could put windows on my Mac.
     
  4. blazerdude20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #4
    is this the full version or an upgrade pack? if its the full version i think im gonna get it and install it on my macbook with bootcamp. actually wait is w7 supported yet?
     
  5. Pirson518 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
  6. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Even though it's labeled "Upgrade", the downloadable $30 Student version is actually full W7 that you can fresh install. I did this already, so yeah, you can bank on it.
     
  7. blazerdude20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #7
    did you install through bootcamp? instructions would be great if you have time.:D
     
  8. cutlassvillager macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #8
    Really? I did a fresh install but then got an error when I tried to activate it. The error was something along the lines of "Your product key is valid for upgrade only, you cannot perform a clean install using this key." So I had to reinstall Vista and do a custom install then just delete the Windows.old folder after activating. That seemed to basically do a fresh install since Vista Home Premium cannot be upgraded to 7 Professional and none of my settings were retained. Did you do the old Vista trick of installing first then reinstalling a second time then activating from there? At what point did you enter in your product key?
     
  9. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    Both Boot Camp and Fusion.

    You can find instructions here.

    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/30470-make-bootable-iso-student-d-l.html

    It took me several tries (mostly because I haven't done DOS in 15 years). You can look for my name in the thread to see what I was doing wrong and how I finally got it to work.

    Good luck!
     
  10. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    I assume you have a legitimate key. All I did was not enter the key during the installation (that's an option, you know). I entered it after everything was installed. It worked without a hitch. Some people have been saying they had to run the installer again from within W7 and do an upgrade of W7 to W7 (sounds silly, but it's true), entering the key only after this upgrade. I did not have to do it, so try this first. It will save you some time.
     
  11. spillproof macrumors 68020

    spillproof

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    My university is selling it Win7 Pro for $40 at the computer store. $10 discount for no DVD, I can handle that.
     
  12. cutlassvillager macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #12
    Yes, I was using the key that was emailed to me from Microsoft on October 22nd. I also waited to enter the key in once the system was installed and that's when I got the error. Now I am wondering that if I would have just entered it in during the install I wouldn't have gotten the error. Thanks for your help. Now that it's finally installed I don't want to dare mess with it at this point.
    On a different note...did making the .iso not seem like a complete PITA? I have many friends (that are students) that want to upgrade to Windows 7 Professional, but I can't really even suggest getting the student discount unless I know I will be close enough to provide them with the burned copy I made. Come on MSFT...you're not some hole-in-the-wall company, you could at least provide the disk image for us.
    Reading through the forum on the link you posted it looks like even tech support is having trouble creating the iso for some people...even using Remote Desktop! Imagine the frustration some are experiencing right now.
     
  13. valvehead macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    According to this site, you don't even have to do the double install.
     
  14. davidlt macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Location:
    Lithuania
    #14
    Actually you can get a free copy of Windows 7 Professional if your university has MSDN AA account. If they have own, you should ask your IT department you create you an account after you will be able to download quite a lot of Microsoft production for free (while you are student). License keys and etc. will be held on MSDN AA website.

    Also don't forget DreamSpark. It was even possible to get a free certification from Microsoft!

    david,
    Lithuania,
    MSP
     
  15. Confuzzeled23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #15
    Hey,
    I was just wondering whether you needed to pay the extra money for a CD. Is it fine just to download the .exe and burn it to a dvd?
    Thanks.
     
  16. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #16
    Yeah, the only way to get Windows 7 professional for $30 is by calling CS: 1.877.696.7786
    It will be the FULL version for students.
    For non-students, just ask how you can upgrade from windows xp. Most likely than not, they will sell you the full version at a discounted price of $30.

    Or

    You can do what the nice guy said, join your MSDNA from your school and download and activate it for free. But then again, You'd have to sign up for a course.
     
  17. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #17
    You can pay $13 and get a CD (actually a DVD), or you can spend a little time (only because others have already done the heavy lifting for you) and create a DVD yourself. See post #9 in this thread (notice it's a little more complicated than just "burning the exe"). If you are getting a 64-bit version of Windows 7, be aware that the exe will work only if you are running it from a previous 64-bit version of Windows (XP or Vista). On any 32-bit version of Windows, you will get an error at the end of the unpacking process (the exe unpacks a couple of "box" files into a setup folder). Don't worry about it (I did, way too much), just follow the directions in the link I gave above.
     
  18. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #18
    Right click and select save target as. Once it's downloaded, change the extension to .iso
    Direct downloads:
    Home Premium 32bit: Click Here
    Home Premium 64bit: Click Here

    Professional 32bit: Click Here
    Professional 64bit: Click Here

    This way, you won't need to buy the actual DVD which will cost you extra but for those who want a piece of mind, buy the DVD. For those who want to save extra money, the links i just gave you will be just fine.
    Don't forget to LEGALLY buy your windows 7 cd key.
     
  19. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #19
  20. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #20
    Just wanted to mention the version that comes from Microsoft for 30 bucks is the RETAIL sealed version...so if you are into that sort of thing. Alot of us ordered ours last week and didn't expect to get them for a while ( I was told the cheapest was ground) but alot of us got bumped up to next day air. I just got mine in today and have only made backups of the DVD's but i'm going to install it once I get home today. I could have downloaded it (since i'm only using the copies) but this is before DR offered the ISOs, and I don't have a current windows install to make my own bootable CD (though I certainly could have.
     
  21. mousouchop macrumors 6502a

    mousouchop

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    Eh, I am a little mad that I didn't find out about the Full Pro version available by calling that number until after I had already bought the digital download version of the Pro Upgrade from win741.com.

    In any case, I compiled my own ISO, burned it, and used a registry hack to make my purchased key work with a fresh install. I suppose that is the same thing in the end. Wouldn't have minded having the retail packaging for the same $30 bucks though.

    Always nice to get something physical for your money instead of just a number/file. This is why I don't like the shift to digital distribution. ><
     
  22. StruckANerve macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    #22
    So I just call them up and ask to purchase a copy of Win7 for $30? Is there anything specific I need to say?
     
  23. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #23
    If you're a student, ask them for a windows 7 professional edition for students, FULL retail version. They will ask for your university email address and you give it to them. CC info will be asked and then an emal to your university email will be sent with tracking information via UPS.

    If you're not a student, ask them for the promotion of Windows 7 professional(full) and ask them you're a long-time windows xp user. Since you can't upgrade unless you have vista, they will give you a discount of Windows professional. If they ask you for more than 30, tell them you heard about the student/teacher discount and would like to know if they could offer you the same dvd at that price. They will verify your address(1 copy per address) if you've ordered before. If you haven't, they will proceed to ask you for your CC and an email address(avoid google/yahoo).
     
  24. trippingchris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #24
    Can you do a clean install with digitalriver without a previous version of Windows? I bought it a few days ago for $30 before I knew about calling Microsoft for the $30 Full version.
     
  25. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #25
    32bit is known to have an upgrade only serial.
    For 64bit, it is a full retail copy from DR. I too ordered a 64bit copy for DR. Did a fresh install on a custom pc and the serial workd just fine. However, I use the 32bit on Vmware on the mac. There should be work-arounds but I'm not into macs that much and my knowledge is vague at best.
     

Share This Page