Studio set up

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ashemoni, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. ashemoni macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #1
    Hello everyone, i'm trying to set up a home recording studio. I need to know what the best audio out on the macbook pro is, I've got a sony a/v receiver, connected to paradigm speakers running stereo. I have a 13" mbp 2011. thanks.
     
  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    For low-latency playback/recording you will need an external audio device. If you want to use a decent condenser mic (and you will if you're even halfway serious) the audio device will need 48v phantom power.

    There are many possibilities. A web store such as Audiomidi.com is a good place to start looking. Check for system and software compatibility, then search the internet to learn about real-world results from actual users.
     
  3. ashemoni thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #3
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    I couldn't speak on the quality of the converters on that (or any, really) unit. That's a peculiar one as it uses a 12AX7 tube in the input preamp. Most low cost units don't. Be aware that the quality of your input signal could be highly dependent on the quality and condition of the tube (they wear out a lot).

    I would shy away from that unit because of the tube, really.

    The output signal quality probably won't differ much from unit to unit in the low price range. Most likely any of them will sound better than the built-in sound on the Mac.
     
  5. ashemoni thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #5
    Thats very helpful thank you, I'm just very new at this! so would you suggest something like this http://www.focusrite.com/products/audio_interfaces/scarlett_2i2/specifications/ which isn't tube? I will probably also be getting at this mic http://www.akg.com/site/products/powerslave,id,1057,tmpnodeid,2,_language,EN,pid,1057.html Thank you in advance!
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    I've been using a Focusrite Saffire LE firewire device for a few years now and it's been pretty good.

    AKG has been around for years and the reputation is great. You'll probably be happy with that one. Be aware that those condenser mics will pick up every sound in the room (air conditioning, computer fans etc)! But that's the way it goes when you want a good recording.

    Best to read reviews from real users on both the Focusrite and the AKG.
     
  7. ashemoni thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #7
    so could you just confirm this because I'm not too sure, if i have that focursrite, and i plus it in to the computer, will it act as a separate sound card and hookup to my a/v receiver?
    thanks
     
  8. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #8
    That's right. You should download the driver installer from the website so that you'll have the latest release. Refer to the user guide for audio routing.

    If your receiver's line ins are anything else but 1/4" you'll have an adapter situation as the Focusrite's lines out are 1/4".
     

Share This Page