Stumped

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by skateny, Jul 27, 2013.

1. skateny, Jul 27, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2013

skateny macrumors 6502

skateny

Hey.

I posted this message on what I thought was the appropriate forum, but didn't get a single response. So I'm back here on my familiar stomping grounds where I've gotten a tremendous amount of help in the past.

As some of you know, I was burglarized about three weeks ago and all my Mac gear was taken, including my iBook G4. Been using a late 2007 MacBook since, and am having some problems.

. . .

Hi.

I'm not new to OS X, but I am new to MacBooks.

I've recently been using a late 2007 MacBook:

Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook3,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 1 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz

From what I've gathered, it's been lightly used over the years, and never had a problem. (Looks and feels new, and the battery still has a long way to go, with several cycles left.) After using it for a couple of weeks, the Mac immediately shut down after I removed the AC adapter. Each time I've tested this, I got the same result. I ran Disk Utility, and everything is reported as fine. The battery is recognized and reported as fully charged the menu bar, System Profiler and CoconutBattery.

I've never had a problem the the couple of times I've used the MB with battery power, two+ hours each time. It had plenty of power left when I plugged in the AC. I don't have a spare battery to test.

Also, my flash drive is now "read only" in permissions, so I can't copy anything to it. I have my own account and the ID/password for the administrator account. The only thing I've done with it is run disk utility to repair permissions and verify disk.

All help will be greatly appreciated.

Edit: Each of these problems seemed to have occurred at around the same time.

2. seveej macrumors 6502a