Stupid AppleTV issues, help!!!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by MBX, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #1
    Hi all,
    i can't believe how not "plug n play" this new AppleTV has turned out to be for me.

    a) First of all connecting the HDMI cable to the my HD-TV (and audio from there into my audio system) simply doesn't work. I tried all possible cables going out of my TV to the audio system and the audio still didn't work. Then i bought a Gefen Toslink optical audio to analog audio converter (http://www.kvm-switches-online.com/gtv-digaud-2-aaud.html) and it still doesn't work really: the audio is very fuzzy/ noisy and now it seems like i have to return the Gefen adapter again.

    b) When I try to watch Netflix via my new AppleTV it tells me HDMI is not supported but HDCP!!! WTF??? Is this true? Do I now have to get a HDCP cable instead of a HDMI just because Netflix copyrights-something doesn't support HDMI when pretty much everyone uses HDMI? WTF? Anyone know?

    I'm really frustrated that it seems so complicated to get the audio up and running properly and i now maybe have to buy an optical audio supported system and also possibly get HDCP cable instead as well.

    Any idea what is going on? This is really frustrating!

    Thanks
     
  2. P Mentior macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Does that Netflix error happen every time you try and use Netflix or just some of the time. I have had that message pop up a few times but mostly it works great for me. From what I understand it is caused by a problem with the HDCP Handshake between the ATV and the TV not the cable itself as I believe that all HDMI cables support HDCP.

    As for the audio problems you are having it may help to know what equipment you are trying to use. Without knowing what model of TV and Audio System you have we can't really help you out
     
  3. jcschlic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    #3
    Yes, the HDCP handshake must occur between all HDMI connections.

    I don't think your TV supports audio output from an HDMI source.

    If you are getting any sound at all while using the DAC, then it's probably of low quality.
     
  4. Wheeler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
  5. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #5
    It's a Philips plasma, HD TV probably 2-3 years old. I wish i had the model name or number but i don't have the manuals anymore and neither it says it anywhere on the TV.

    What is the HDCP handshake, all i'm using to connect my ATV2 is the HDMI cable. Do i need something else now as well?

    As for audio, if the TV doesn't support HDMI audio then my only option would be to buy a new audio-system with direct optical audio support?
    I currently use an audio system only supporting analog audio in/out, that's why i have to use the Gefen adapter Toslink converter that connects the ATV2 to it and then analog cable to audio system.

    Any ideas?

    This is very disappointing. I know Apple wanted to make the thing smaller by removing analog audio out but now i just have to keep buying expensive crap in order for the $99 ATV2 to work.
     
  6. P Mentior macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    The HDCP Handshake is a purely software thing so nothing new is needed. As for the TV Model did you check the back? Normally there is information on a sticker on the back that gives things like the model and serial number so check there if it isn't a pain in the a** to get to it.
     
  7. Wheeler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #7
    Does the TV have speakers, and if so do you get audio out of it?

    Couple things id check-

    Make sure audio out is enabled in your TV settings

    Make sure you have a newer HDMI cable- not positive but a real old one could cause audio and HDCP problems

    Try and find model number on back of your TV by the serial number and check if it is HDCP compatible- its just content protection and I would imagine it is, but u never know.

    With the TV off, plug the appletv into it, press menu on the appletv remote to make sure it is outputting a signal (light is on)- then turn on your tv. I have heard this sometimes helps with the HDCP handshake

    btw, I have an aTV hooked into TV via HDMI (obviously) then audio out from TV to a stereo and it works perfectly
     
  8. stevenb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #8
    Do you have an HDMI TV...

    I just wanted to ensure that you have an HDMI connection on your TV, or is it DVI? If you are using an HDMI to DVI cable, it does not carry audio. You mentioned a Gefen converter, which I had to use as I only had a DVI port on my tv. The DVI port on my tv (input #7) then had RCA (red/white) component inputs. This worked for me on a nine year old Sony KV36XBR800. I had full functionality of the ATV2 until the recent update. Now, I have only 480p resolution out of the ATV2 (even though my tv supports 720p and 1080i). I still have all other functionality (including Netflix and iTunes streaming) with no HDCP errors.

    If you connected by way of HDMI to your tv, then maybe their is a speaker selection in your tv menu that you need to change to? If you are trying to use the optical audio out of the ATV2 and an HDMI connection to your tv, I believe the ATV2 then does not allow audio output from the optical output.

    Just thinking out loud. I hope this helps?
     
  9. Wheeler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #9
    Surprisingly the aTV2 does pump audio out the optical and hdmi at same time-
     

Share This Page