Stupid newbie question (and ramblings), looking for advice...

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by classie787, Jul 29, 2010.

1. classie787 macrumors member

Hello all. I'm completely new here, so be gentle! To show my ignorance, up until a couple weeks ago I thought an iPod was a just a simple MP3-type device that played music with perhaps a small simple screen which displayed text (such as track number, song title, etc). And nothing more. Late last month I picked up my cousin's iPod Touch and played around with it. I was shocked at how wrong my assumption was. I was uploading my photos (I'm a photographer, more on that in a moment), sending email with our home's wifi, checking the weather, playing games, etc etc. Beyond impressed, I started doing research as noticed a fourth generation of the device is expected to come out around September.

I did notice that the screen resolution didn't quite do justice to some of my photographs I uploaded. Resolution was good, but I was hoping for a bit more. With a Retina Display expected (but certainly not guaranteed) I am even more interested in utilizing the iPod Touch as an excellent way of carrying around much of my portfolio of photos in a very compact manner. That coupled with some other possible add-ons in the fourth generation (camera, faster processor, better battery life, etc) and I am quite convinced I will be buying a Gen 4 when they are released.

But here's the question (finally)--I'm greatly intrigued by many of the apps and was wondering if it might not be a bad idea to get started and acquainted with the iPod Touch now by buying a cheap 3rd gen 8gb model (if those exist?) or a 2nd generation model. Not sure how 2nd and 3rd generations differ, but if I could find a 3rd generation 8gb model for sale for say...$130, would I be losing much in resale?