Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

matthewgeek123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 10, 2015
Hi
I am new to this mac thing and need some help.
I have a powermacintosh 7600/120 (120mhz) which I got given without a keyboard, although with a mouse. When I try to start it I hear the fan and hard disk start and the LED goes but nothing comes up on the screen and I cannot hear a startup chime. Do I need a keyboard to start properly? If it doesn't have a keyboard does it decide that it's running headless and not show picture?

I have replaced the PRAM battery (with a couple of button cells) but that makes no difference. I also pressed the CUDA reset button and that also did nothing, although I might have done it wrong.

Any help appreciated,
Matthew

Hrududu

macrumors 68020
Jul 25, 2008
Central US
You don't need a keyboard to boot up. Check your RAM and the video memory. You might also verify the processor is seated properly.

DeltaMac

macrumors G5
Jul 30, 2003
Delaware
Check the voltage from your PRAM battery. The original is 3.6 volts, and some old PowerMacs might not boot properly if the voltage is less than 3.2. Your pair of button batteries may not be providing that much.

Try reseating the RAM. Put RAM back in the slots one at a time, then try a boot after inserting each card.
You should also try reseating the processor card.
You can reset the logic board by removing all power, along with removing the PRAM battery. Unplug the power supply connector from the logic board. Press and release the power button, then wait at least 10 minutes before reinstalling the battery. Connect to power, then try to boot.
That logic board reset will reset the PRAM, so you won't need the keyboard to do that reset.