Stupid question..Can Mac Pro anc Quad G5 co-exist?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Joshuarocks, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. Joshuarocks macrumors 6502

    Joshuarocks

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cyberspace
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a 2010 6-core Mac Pro as well as a Power Mac G5 Quad w/16GB memory and Quadro fx 4500.. I know this is a Mac Pro only forum, but what kind of uses can I make for both of my systems? Both are networked on a computer table and wanting to know what I can use both of these systems for.

    The G5 I just acquired in immaculate and clean, mint condition.. It even has the Panasonic LCS in it.. I know PowerPC is this, and that and also it is "dead technology", but what uses can both my 2010 6-core serve and my G5 Quad?

    Primarily, I use the computer for everyday stuff, such as internet searching, surfing the web, dvd encoding, very light video editing(really have no interest in this at all, but just to show someone I use it for something)..

    Can a PowerPC Quad G5 and a 2010 6-core mac pro co-exist with each other? Am I doing anything wrong by having two machines.. one being PowerPC running Leopard while the other one is a 6-core 2010 Mac Pro?

    Advice on how to get the best out of both these fine machines?
     
  2. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Just a quick question and don't feel offended, but how can some random people in a forum tell you what to use your computers for?

    Aren't you the one who should have had any thought about what to use them for prior to the purchase?
     
  3. Joshuarocks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joshuarocks

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cyberspace
    #3
    This is true.. at 1st I had decided to get into some kind of video editing, but for some reason I lost interest in it.. I guess the reason why I got the Mac Pro was because of its expandability versus the other models.. and yet, I am not even utilizing it for what it was meant for.. I somewhat treated it as if it were a PowerMac. Remember, how consumers back in the PPC days bought power macs because they were and still are expandable compared to other platforms?

    The purpose of the thread was to see if it is acceptable to have a Quad G5 in addition to the Mac Pro and seeing what kind of use I can get out of both machines.
     
  4. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #4
    If you were using them for something it would be. But you say you only do some browsing, email, dvd encoding and light stuff I'd say keep the hexa Pro and sell the G5, not because you need the horsepower but because it would be the smartest move, electric bill-wise, and future proof.
     
  5. Joshuarocks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joshuarocks

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cyberspace
    #5
    I also have a love for the PowerPC... funny, those like Zen and others in the PowerPC forum would have told me that it is perfectly acceptable to have both intel and ppc.

    Funny, if PC users have anything older than windows 7, its perfectly acceptable.. but PPC? Here are my macs I own and use:

    2010 6-core Mac Pro(was 2009, until I upgraded the boards and firmware)
    PowerBook G4 Dual-layer 1.67
    PowerBook G4 Pismo for my OS 9 nostalgia
    Gateway P-6860fx gaming laptop - hardly using this now.

    So, in your opinion.. its NOT acceptable to keep a PPC mac and Intel mac and treat them both as capable machines, each one doing different tasks.. Spoken like a true intel fanboy.
     
  6. Joshuarocks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joshuarocks

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cyberspace
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Hello?
    Didn't you read the post your quoted?
    If you only use the G5 for light usage like web browsing and such, it would be a waste of energy and money to use the G5 and not get a more ecological and economical machine like a Mac mini.

    No need to attack a poster with a valid point. You came here to ask for opinions, and you got one. Something wrong with that?


    Nope, still open.
     
  8. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Exactly.
    Personally, I don't get the whole "co-exist" thing. Just use them as you wish, it's not like your Intel machine is suddenly going to stop working only because there's a PPC in the room.

    :confused:
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Oh yes, as soon as a new model of the same product line is released, the old one stops working immediately. And with this kind of thinking, those consumers are fulfilling the companies' dream of having products with such a function, legally.
     
  10. Joshuarocks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joshuarocks

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cyberspace
    #10
    :) ok.. well, my Mac Pro looks at me with sad eyes and wonders when I will put him back on the table where my G5 resides.. I plan on getting an 8 foot table where I can network the two systems. My immediate plan was to use the Mac Pro as a server to host for all my systems.
     
  11. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #11
    Nope. Their daemons duke it out within the Pit of Doom in a battle to the death.
     
  12. Joshuarocks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joshuarocks

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cyberspace
    #12
    Ok, I see this was a stupid thread to start with.. how do I close it?
     
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13
    Use the [​IMG] button to report it.
     
  14. apolloa macrumors G3

    apolloa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Time, because it rules EVERYTHING!
    #14
    Before this gets closed.....

    From reading this you have a fanboy attitude for older Macs?? So why not just keep all of them, network the two as you said and use the Mac Pro as an everyday machine and the G5 as a server for your whole home and other systems?
    If you ever plan to upgrade the Mac OS to newer versions then you'll only be able to with the Intel Mac Pro.
     
  15. Macdctr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #15
    I have a PPC G5 Dual 2.5 tower and Mac Pro 1,1 co-existing with no issues. I use the PPC G5 as a server for my home and my Mac Pro for pretty much everything else at home. I also back up both my MacBooks to my PPC G5 and it works fairly well even with the older OS....that's what I would do in your case but it's really up to you on how you want to use your computers....GL :apple:
     
  16. Joshuarocks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joshuarocks

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cyberspace
    #16
    The whole purpose of the thread was to see if I would be chewed out for even having a PPC mac and an Intel mac side by side as I have seen those with both platforms chewed out severely just for mentioning the word "PowerPC".

    I guess some people hate PPC and others love it and there are some that don't care what platform they use.. I completely understand that there are many detractors of the PPC platform out there.. I am sorry that we exist.. But as I explained, I have a 2010 mac pro - u seen it! I like all my macs.. my powerbook G4 which does everything I throw at it + plays 720p youtube.

    Anyway, for my uses the 2010 mac pro does everything I throw at it as does my G5.
     
  17. Behemecoatyl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #17
    They are computers. My G5 and Mac Classic co-exist perfectly fine. 10 years ago I would have been blasted for having both a PPC and a 68k computer.
     
  18. VanneDC, Apr 8, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011

    VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #18
    Both my PM and MP work fine together, (i have them setup next to each other) and works great when the missus and i wanna surf the net together, side by side. (ive also been trying to get her into a game or 2 of quake, but she would rather facebook lol)

    either way, yeah they go well together. (pm 2.3ghz dual cpu with x800xt), currently trying to figure out if i can run a local server for Wow up to where ppc support got dropped, so we can go on holidays in Azaroth together :)

    oh and the reason i got a MP is purely for my studio work and x86 games.
     
  19. DeeEss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    #19
    Can it exist? Haven't you heard about LOL Mode?

    You Plug the Firewire 800 cord into the lesser machine, hold down the keys Cmd+L+O+L tap the power button 10 times in quick succession and then press and hold it for 20 minutes the CPU will then migrate and 'fuse' with the new machine giving you the added power of the second computer.

    I thought everyone had done this with their new machines?

    Either that or just use it as a server?
     
  20. dknightd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    #20
    I use my old G5 as a backup machine. It keeps a copy of everything I think is important. In a pinch it has most of my data, so I could use it.
     
  21. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #21
    Why keep using the G5? It's possibly slower than a single core in your Mac Pro...
     

Share This Page