Stupid Question: How does everyone do screen shots on here?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iRobby, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. iRobby macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #1
    I constantly see perfect screen shots from iPhones, iPads and desktops posted in forums how do you make them? Is it only able to be done on Apple devices?
     
  2. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
  3. Bat6111 macrumors member

    Bat6111

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    I use it too :)

    Shift + CMD + 3 is cap the whole screen
    Shift + CMD + 4 is cap with selection
     
  4. mrfoof82 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    On iOS devices, press the home and wake button simultaneously. It creates a screenshot and saves it to your photo roll.

    On OS X, Applications -> Utilities -> Grab. You can just use Preview to crop and adjust. Also the keyboard shortcuts Bat6111 mentioned.

    On Windows, Print Screen (as well as ALT+Print Screen and SHIFT+Print Screen) work well and are easily edited in Paint.
     
  5. Hawkeye411 macrumors 68000

    Hawkeye411

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada EH!!!
    #5
    You can do this on Microsoft PC's by pressing the "Print Screen" button. This takes a picture on the screen and pastes it to the Clip Board. Then paste the screenshot into the software your using.

    Cheers.
     
  6. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #6
    command shift 4 and select what you want to take the shot of, then it will appear as a JPG on your desktop. With the iPod/Pad/Phone you hold the home button and press the lock button for a second or two, and it will be in your images.
     
  7. fkhan3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #7
    This. And in Windows you can also do Alt + 'Print Screen' to take a screenshot of just the active window/dialog box.

    On Macs I use Skitch, kinda pricey but I really like it and have gotten quite used to it.
     
  8. sth, Jun 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011

    sth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    The old world
    #8
    Cmd + Shift + 4, followed by space lets you select a window.

    Works even with partially visible windows and even includes the drop shadow properly in the PNG file. :D
    screenshot-example.png
     
  9. iRobby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #9
    Thanks for some reason it not working on my PC want my iMac NOW!! but iOS worked
     
  10. sth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    The old world
    #10
    You could try Windows' "snipping tool" (Vista and 7 only) if printscreen doesn't work for you.
     
  11. Mrguidogenio macrumors regular

    Mrguidogenio

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Argentina
    #11
    I didn't know the Space trick.
    Thanks! :)
     
  12. iRobby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #12

    Thanks but I'm gonna have to wait for my iMac I have XP:mad::mad:
     
  13. Sean_Ryan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
  14. iLidz macrumors member

    iLidz

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Location:
    California
  15. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #15
    Shouldnt this be in the PC forum then?
     
  16. johnfkitchen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #16
    Grab

    The Mac OS X has an inbuilt app called "Grab".

    Grab allows you to capture a selection, a window, the entire screen or a delayed capture of the screen (to allow you to set up the scene and pull down menus etc)
     
  17. chainprayer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #17
    I love how the same answer keeps pouring in over and over hours after it was answered.
     
  18. johnfkitchen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #18
    Yep. Missed that. Sorry
     
  19. tomville macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #19
    Snagit, works great. I use it for work and the license allows me to have it on my mac at home too!
     

Share This Page