Stupid Safari Question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by El Magnificante, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. El Magnificante macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    #1
    How do I get a new tab button on the toolbar? :confused:
     
  2. bjett92 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    #2
    I don't think you can place a new tab button in the toolbar, because it isn't on the customize dialog box, however command+T opens a new tab.
     
  3. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    one of the most demanded, yet, ignored problem with safari.
     
  4. El Magnificante thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    :D you got that right...
     
  6. El Magnificante thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    #7
    Problem solved, I use Firefox now.

    Apple should be ashamed. But then, there is the iPhone and Macbook Air :rolleyes:
     
  7. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #8
    I know this probably doesn't help much, but if you right-click on the tab bar you'll see "new tab" appear.

    Not the best solution, but it's all I got for you.

    Personally, I just use :apple: + t
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    Not sure if this works in Leopard, but in Tiger I user SafariStand and the action_message protocol to set up a New Tab button in my Bookmarks Bar. Use it all the time.
     
  9. basset hound macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #10
    Perhaps another switcher needs to answer this question instead.

    El, go to File on the top left and scroll down to the second button "New Tab" and it will add a tabs line under your Bookmark line in the browser window with the tabs that you have open.:D It's not much different than IE.
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    it is QUITE different. on IE's Tab bar, there is a small button to the left of all the tabs, click that button will add a new tab. while there is no such thing in safari.
     
  11. Slip macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #12
    I think having the cleaner toolbar is worth the initial difficulty. Also added to the fact that using Cmd-T is a lot quicker than navigating to a button
     
  12. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #13
    please, "new tab" button is more useful than "bookmark this page" button, no to mention there are another 7 buttons can be added to toolbar ("report a bug" button???)

    It has nothing to do with a "cleaner toolbar".

    Cmd+T is only quicker if you are using keyboard alot, for people using mice most of them time, its won't be quick at all.

    shortcomes are shortcomes, no excuse please. :)
     
  13. Slip macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #14
    Haha, agreed on that ;)
    However, I still feel that the clean toolbar in my eyes it a lot nicer than having a button that I wouldn't use seeing as I use Cmd - T
     
  14. El Magnificante thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    #15
    There are many times when I am reading and just using my trackball; it is inconvenient to use the keyboard.

    Seriously, "Report a Bug" but no "New Tab" ?? Perhaps that is the bug that should be reported. :eek:
     

Share This Page