Stutter with 1440P at 60fps?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TechGod, Feb 2, 2017.

  1. TechGod, Feb 2, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2017

    TechGod macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Hey!

    I have a late 2013 rMBP and whenever I try to play this video, my MacBook drops a lot of frames.
    My average internet speed is between 40-50 down and 30-40 up with 15 ping. I just don't get it.

    EDIT: Little update, I just played the video again and it was smooth but I still had 500 dropped frames
     
  2. white7561 macrumors newbie

    white7561

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Location:
    World
    #2
    Its because vp8/9 decoding i think. Its using cpu not gpu because its not hardware accelerated ...
     
  3. TechGod thread starter macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    So I can't do anything?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 3, 2017 ---
    I just tested it on my custom gaming build with an Intel i5 6500 and a RX 480 and still had around 100 dropped frames
     
  4. white7561 macrumors newbie

    white7561

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Location:
    World
    #4
    Install h264ify extensions. And restart your browser. It should now forced to use h264 . It will be faster and also not as cpu intensive. But. Some 4k will not work ( option not showing ) but 1440p will still work
     
  5. TechGod thread starter macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Thanks! I'll try it out!
     
  6. white7561 macrumors newbie

    white7561

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Location:
    World
    #6
    Let me know if it works.. :D
     
  7. TechGod thread starter macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I lost the option for 1440P after downloading that extension on my PC, I'll try my MacBook
    --- Post Merged, Feb 3, 2017 ---
    Ok I think the issue is with Opera...Chrome was smooth WITHOUT the extension
     
  8. white7561 macrumors newbie

    white7561

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Location:
    World
    #8
    Its still will use cpu even if u use chrome. Only safari force h264 . On chrome and opera u need that extensions to get that smooth
     

Share This Page