Subwoofer on Alu Imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mreg376, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #1
    Does plugging a subwoofer into the audio out jack have to silence the internal speakers?

    Thanks.
     
  2. 4DThinker macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #3
    I think it would be a GREAT idea for Apple to "upgrade" the audio-out jack. Let us switch it in software from "disable internal speakers" to "leave internal speakers on" when something is in the jack. The iMac speakers aren't great, but they could be easily improved for music playback if some low frequency output was added. Heck, provide an "Apple iWoofer" and make even more money off of us!
     
  3. timswim78 macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #4
    If I recall correctly, this happened inadvertently when people were hacking their Intel Mac's to run Windows (prior to Boot Camp). People were running into a problem that caused the internal speakers to remain on while headphones were plugged in.

    So, perhaps the OP's goal can be accomplished with a driver change.
     
  4. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
  5. amiga macrumors 6502

    amiga

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Location:
    London.
    #6
    They did... my iMac G5 has one... its a mini optical out through the headphone jack :)
     
  6. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
  7. amiga macrumors 6502

    amiga

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Location:
    London.
    #8

    Take a look at the audio specs...

    Audio
    Built-in stereo speakers
    Internal 24-watt digital amplifier
    Headphone/optical digital audio output (minijack)
    Audio line in/optical digital audio input (minijack)
    Built-in microphone

    http://www.apple.com/uk/imac/specs.html

    :D
     
  8. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    i mean like the little port on the back of most DVD players that glows red and has a flap
     
  9. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #10
    The jack on the imacs does the exact same thing. Its just a different port type so you need a converter cable.
     
  10. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #11

    The audio in/out ARE optical ports. I use them to connect my iMac to my SB Extigy. 5.1 and it blasts like gangbusters.

    I use the external box for both input and output since I have better control over it with my extigy.
     
  11. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #12
    i c do you know where i can get one
     
  12. err404 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
  13. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
  14. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #15
    A lot of the optical cables you buy from Apple come with the adapter. I bought my cables from the local Apple store and each one came with 1 adapter each which is all I need since the device I was going to and coming from were standard optical ports, but the Apple products aren't they are that TOS_Link.

    One way to look at it is 1/4 phono jack adapter to 1/8 phono jack.
     
  15. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #16
    Yeah yeah yeah i do that all the time. I just never knew about the apple audio jacks
     
  16. mreg376 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #17
    But the bottom line is still that once you plug anything into that audio out jack it shuts off the internal speakers, correct?
     
  17. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #18
    Yes. You can't have both, it's one or the other.

    Like in my case it's perfect since there's no need (since it would go against the 5.1 surround sound) to have the 2 internal speakers since I already have the 5 speaker setup including the center channel.

    Your case, you might need a 3 speaker setup with a subwoofer and 1 mids. Staples has a similar setup (getting one for my wife's MB, that has 2 speakers and a floor woofer for 20 bucks.
     
  18. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #19
    isn't there a program that allows both to be on at once?
     
  19. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #20
    I believe it's not possible through the headphones output as the switching between headphones output and speakers is done physically by a relay switch (which can only go to one connection or the other).

    I'd happily be proved wrong though.


    You *could* always look for an apple iSub, but I believe they haven't worked properly since Tiger...
     
  20. mreg376 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #21
    Actually that sounds perfect. But they are really nowhere to be found. Are/were they that bad?
     

Share This Page