Sudden Motion Sensor iAlertU on 2.2ghz MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by bluedoggiant, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. Domofloge macrumors regular

    Domofloge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    Nice vid.

    I'm just wondering how many of these same informational videos will be posted on youtube. :D
     
  2. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
  3. williamsg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #4
    Ialertu

    Hi,

    I downloaded the IAlertU. It can in a zip file. I unzipped it and click IAlertU icon. Nothing happens.

    Would I need a remote controller for IAlertu to work?


    I notice there is another Folder with the zip file I unzipped.


    Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks a million
     
  4. bluedoggiant thread starter macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #5
    look for a circlish icon in your menu bar.
     
  5. switcher3365 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #6
    I downloaded this today on my MBP and tested it. However, I have no way of shutting it off once the alarm goes off, so I am forced to shut off the computer by pressing the power button. Is there anyway to disable this without the remote (which doesn't come with the Penryn notebooks)?
     
  6. williamsg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #7
    Hi Bluedoggiant,

    Thank you. While it took me a while to find out what it is I manage to spot the icon on the right hand side of the menu.

    I got it to work from the menu.

    I have yet to figure out how to have it activated using the Apple remote. If you could give me some directions I greatly appreciate.

    Many thanks again.
     
  7. switcher3365 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #8
    I figured it out now. It tells you have to use it with (or without) the remote in the ReadMe file that should be in the *.zip folder that the software came in.
     
  8. bluedoggiant thread starter macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #9
    nope, remote is needed.
     
  9. williamsg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #10
    Key in your password while the alarm is on. It should stop.

    I have yet to figure out how I can use the Remote with IAlert.
     
  10. bluedoggiant thread starter macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #11
    Hold down the menu button
     
  11. williamsg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #12
    I tried to pair by holding the menu button and the "play" button. I did not pair. The remote would not work.

    Will it work if I pair it with the "menu" button only

    (Have paired with MacBook Pro with the Apple Remote to switch to other uses. It works fine)

    Thank you again.
     
  12. williamsg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #13
    Hi Bluedoggiant,

    I got the apple remote fixed. I did it differently from the instructions that came with the zip file and it work.

    Thanks again
     
  13. bluedoggiant thread starter macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #14
    That is good.
     
  14. eysun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #15
    you can shut off the alert without a Remote.
    you should set an Arm password , and when the alarm in ringing just type your password and its off....:rolleyes:

    this app is realy intresting
     
  15. JAAB, Jan 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011

    JAAB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    #16
    Locked

    I downloaded Ialertu and I changed the settings so that it locks at launch and it ignores my password and will not stop! I read around this discussion and you need a remote to unlock it however I have a plain MacBook and it does not have an ir sensor what can I do to unlock it? Please help!!
     
  16. JAAB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    #17
    found a solution!!

    after a long searching time i found some keyboard shortcuts that bypass login items. if you have your settings so that automatic login is on then you have to press and hold cmd+opt+o+f for login in screen and while logging in hold shift

    if you have to log in all the time disregard my first command and proceed with login and holding shift. then delete the software and re-install it, because if you re-open ialertu it will continue with the previous settings and you will be doing the same thing over again
     

Share This Page