Sudden weird admin issues ( and software update)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by rroback, May 24, 2008.

  1. rroback macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #1
    So, I've been using my 1.8/ssd for a couple months now, and really love it, have had no real issues, until now. I went to instal stuffit expander, and it told me I didn't have admin privileges. I went to instal something else ( forgot what it was) and had the same thing. I'm the only user, and of course have full admin access.

    then, I decide something might be weird, and go to run software update, and it doesn't work. Comes up, starting the little bar going across, and always stops at about 1/5 the way through.

    Any ideas what's going on?
     
  2. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  3. rroback thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #3
    How do I do that? Well, I have to first get my air to start up. Now, i just get the spinny wheel, and it won't start up. darn-it.
     
  4. Macsterling macrumors regular

    Macsterling

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

    did it start up for u?
     
  5. rroback thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #5
    Oh my luck....

    well, 2.5 hours later at the apple store, we got it working.. err.. not really. he kept trying different things, and getting weird errors, something about dns responder, and then weird block problems. Basically, I was boned. The only thing I could do was a clean instal, and lost tons of stuff. Was able to save some homework, but lost close to 300 emails, from a bunch of clients ( arg), and work files. this is super frustrating, since it seemed to come out of nowhere. I don't know what caused it, but I'm going to invest it a big external drive for backups.

    Rhett
     
  6. brudy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    #6
    Sorry you're having trouble. Even on my desktop I always backup work/client work stuff to a second external drive. I'm super paranoid about losing stuff...I should really start using time machine, but my older desktop is still on 10.4.
     

Share This Page