Suddenly... A system restart!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by UltraNEO*, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #1
    Hey... Has anyone experienced one of those? I didn't tell my system to restart but it just did, forcing everything to close and shutdown without saving, then restarted. System log says:

    What does this mean?
     
  2. Insulin Junkie macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #2
    Could you post some more hardware (esp. battery) stats? From what I'm reading on google it's either got something to do with bad integration of third party software, or your battery's going bad?
     
  3. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #3
    Sorry for the late response.

    Battery? You mean the CMOS battery on the logicboard? Cause this sudden restart came from a MacPro (2008) Umm.. The machine is barely a couple of weeks old, could it be flat already? Can't be!!

    Hmm, if it's software then it's gonna take a while to figure out cause this is the work machine, there's tons of software on here. Wait... did you mean system utilities? Hmmm...
     
  4. Insulin Junkie macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #4
    Just checked around on google again... there's tons of people getting the same error message, but all in a different context! I'm finding it almost impossible to find a definite answer. Here's a relevant link I found. As far as I can tell there's no solution to the problem yet though. =(

    http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=6811550
     
  5. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #5
    Thanks dude. Thankfully since the last crash the system seems to have settled down. I'm wondering was it slightly upset with the additional RAM I've installed...

    Oh well, I never thought a MacPro could be prejudice.... :rolleyes:
     
  6. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #6
    do a Hardware test and see i you get a "MEM…" error. if so then get your RAM replaced.
     
  7. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #7
    Nah, there's no errors!!
    Tested them last week! Thanks all the same.
     
  8. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
  9. CharlieKirk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #9
    I too had my first kernel panic, shortly followed by another. Looked like something to do with the graphics card by the logs, also the graphics card's fan is a lot louder now...

    Worth lugging it to the Apple Store, and possibly leaving it there?

    It has been clean for 2 days..
     

Share This Page