Sugestion for a new MBP product line

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Manuelrodrigues, Nov 3, 2015.

1. Manuelrodrigues, Nov 3, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2015

Manuelrodrigues macrumors member

Manuelrodrigues

Hi there,

I'm a graphic and movie professional. I do stills, animation, and video editing. I mostly work in "live design". I run video during concerts and business events. All of this I do on my MacBook Pro. I love the machine but I envy al the options my colleagues have who use a windows based platform. They have better cpu and gpu options. I understand Apple is trying to make the mbp as power efficient and portable (small and lightweight) as possible but for me these are not the most important features. It sure is sexi but I would love to trade 7 hours of battery life for a better CPU and I would gladly carry 2 kilos extra and have a bigger laptop if it would include a better gpu.

Recently nvidia released the gt980mxm. That's a full desktop 980 in a laptop format. It's lightyears faster than the current gpu offerings in the MacBook Pro. Additionally Intel released a laptop Xeon processor. This is also much faster that the current cpu offering of apple. All this glorious hardware is going into windows based laptops and we the Mac users are stuck using hardware which is old and (in my view) not worthy of the label "pro".

So to conclude here's my question: please apple make a portable workstation (notebook) using state of the art hardware concentrating on performance in stead of battery efficiency, weight and size of the laptop...

Who's with me!?

2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

Not nearly enough people to make it worth their while and posting on mac rumours means nothing to apple you sort of have to contact them if you want things to change.

They won't though so you have a choice use a macbook, which clearly does what you need or you would have changed it for something else or buy something else and have specs you don't need.