Suggestions for quickly setting up my new iMac??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iMerlin, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. iMerlin macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #1
    Hello all,

    Since some of you seem to be getting the i5and i7s already and others have had the C2D for a couple of weeks, I figured I would ask for some opinions. I dont have my i7 yet, but still have my MBP so I figured I can start getting some stuff lined up for when my iMac finally arrives.

    So I have a ton of apps on my MBP that I will want on my iMac as well. for example, Handbrake, VLC, Onyx just to name a few.

    Cant I simply copy those application files right from Finder to an external drive, then plug it into the iMac, copy them to the application folder on the iMac and be ready to rock and roll?

    I doubt I can do that with apps that require registration, right? Like Office for Mac or Adobe CS3??

    Also, what about Windows in Parallels? I have Win 7 running with all the programs I need in there like AnyDVD HD and CloneDVD. Is there anyway I can easily port that virtual machine to my new iMac?? Or am I stuck with setting that all up again?

    I dont remember the last time I was this pumped up for a fricken piece of electronics. Ive already pretty much remodeled my basement in anticipation of my iMac coming home!
     
  2. MT0227 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #2
  3. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #3
    Oh I got plenty of external drive space just waiting for that 2tb iMac to run TM the first time. I have a 4tb Drobo and 2 1tb airdisks.

    I thought about doing the clone thing but is there anything to worry about since Im going from my MBP to the iMac? Different chip sets dont come into play here I guess.
     
  4. Carressa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #4
    Well on setup of my i5 it asked if I was new or migrating...pick migrating and then it takes it from there you just need firewire cable to plug between the machines when it tells you to.

    :note: it will copy any VMware sessions you may have but it will not move over your BC partition. It did however grab everything else.
     
  5. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #5


    GOOD INFO!! I dont have BC currently but hoped to partition my 2tb in the iMac for Win 7.

    So the migration assistant will copy over parallels as well as the programs within that virtual machine huh? Very good to know. Thanks Carressa!

    I assume it will also copy over iTunes? I have a big library and last time I moved it I was in for a world of hurt. Spent a weekend getting it back to perfect. Or do I just set up the iMac as a sub account and use the MBP iTunes as my Master for home sharing? I was kinda thinking about doing the opposite if I can. Load up the iMac as the master since it will usually be on.
     
  6. Carressa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #6

    It will copy your iTunes you will just have to authorize the new machine.
     
  7. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #7
    Excellent... off to get a firewire cable! Thanks again.
     
  8. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #8
    Yes, the migration assistant is defintely the way to go. Makes it all very easy.

    Will you still be using iTunes on the MacbookPro? If not, be sure to de-authorize it.

    The only other issue you might run into is having to re-authorize a few of the apps on the new machine by entering the serial numbers. Hope you have them handy as you may need them.
     
  9. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #9
    Yeah, Ive actually spent the last few days going through the leg work to get the keys reissued to me. Have them all lined up now.

    Regarding iTunes, I do plan on using it on the MBP still. I take my MBP to work everyday. Its my mobile iTunes library. Im sure keeping the 2 copies of it synced up will be a challenge. Unless I do a Back To My Mac type of thing and access my iMac from my MBP. Im not even sure if that is doable.
     
  10. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #10
    Does Migration Assistant offer 'specifics' where you can just migrate over certain things like documents, etc? I really want a clean i7 and don't want to haul over superfluous stuff or junk that really shouldn't be there. Maybe I should just drag/drop from my external. ???
     
  11. filmgirl macrumors regular

    filmgirl

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #11
    Meagain:
    Eh, it's not as finely grained as Time Machine can be -- but you can specify the age of stuff you want to transfer over.

    I'm probably not going to use Migration Assistant for mine because I have actually stuff from multiple drives I want to consolidate -- so I'm going to be really overly finicky about it. What I do always tend to do though is to drag over my mail stuff so I don't have to bother exporting/importing any of that. I don't know all the locations off hand, but most of it is in the Library folder in your user folder.

    If you have the time and the hard drive space, cloning your current drive as a time machine backup and then using Time Machine to migrate back can be a really solid way of having more granular control.
     
  12. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #12
    I didnt realize TM allowed any kind of granular control? Oh wait, I can just simply enter TM and grab the folders I want.... ok I get it now! Good idea!

    Im in the same boat as Meagain. I would prefer not to pull over any crap. But then again I have 2tbs to play with in the iMac so maybe Ill migrate everything, then spend some time cleaning up.

    Cant I run Migration Assistant after Im all loaded up and ready to roll? It isnt something that needs to be done during the initial install, is it?

    Either way, I cant wait for this machine to show up. I have everything lined up already. Cleaned up my desk area, got my backup solutions in place, just need my i7!!
     
  13. Carressa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #13

    Did yours ship already? Do you have an ETA?
     
  14. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #14
    Unfortunately no! I ordered on Nov 4th. Status still shows Not Yet Shipped. I called in because I noticed a pending transaction on the 11th. Joan said that usually implies shipment within 3 days, so I should expect it to ship today. But she couldnt promise anything. Ive been checking the status page constantly. Its getting out of control.

    So this thread may have been a little early, but I like being prepared for these things.

    By the way, Carressa? Ive been checking your thread often, how do you like the i5 so far? Did you migrate or start from fresh?
     
  15. Carressa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #15
    Well since my iMac 24" ran like a champ I just went ahead and migrated everything. So far I don't see anything missing:). The i5 like I said before exceeded my expectations I couldn't be happier. Only thing that didn't handle the transfering of data is my BC Windows XP......but I won't go into that because windows and I do not get along and anything I say will sound like windows bashing :rolleyes:
     
  16. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #16
    LOL, I know how that is. Everyone at work thinks Im an Apple fan boy. I always say, yeah Im a fan of things that work!

    So if I run the migration assistant and all I currently have is Parallels with Win 7, MA should grab that, shouldnt it? Ill just have to go back through and set up BC, right? I dont even know if Ill BC it. For what I use Windows for, Parallels has served me very well.
     
  17. Carressa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #17
    Yup should be a breeze!:apple:
     
  18. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #18
    Thanks Carressa! Im so wound up waiting for this thing, I need to find something else to do with my time!
     
  19. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #19
    I started to mess around with manually moving things then got fed up. My old machine was super clean so I just used Migration Asst to haul over docs, photos, movies, etc.
     
  20. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #20
    Yes, you can run migration assistant after the fact.
     
  21. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #21
    I just noticed that too! I shouldve checked first before asking.

    On another note, and I posted in another thread about it. I called Apple and they claim my iMac should ship around the 25th. I'm fine with waiting as long as I have an idea how long I have to wait.
     

Share This Page