Suggestions for replacement HD and RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BigCanoe, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. BigCanoe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    #1
    I just bought a used 15" Macbook Pro, 2.4ghz, Santa Rosa version. It came with 2GB RAM and a 160GB HD, I want to upgrade both. Any suggestions on what brand to choose?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    What capacities are you looking for (your MBP can take up to 6GB of RAM and up to 750GB HD)? 5400rpm or 7200rpm HD?

    OWC is always great place to buy from. NewEgg may be cheaper but you have to know what you are looking for.
     
  3. nwbusa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    #3
    RAM -- Crucial
    HDD -- WD

    You'll get many varied opinions on which brands are recommended.
     
  4. BigCanoe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    #4
    Sorry, I am looking for 4 or 6GB RAM, and a 250GB + HD, probably 7200 if its not too much hotter, or noisier than a 5400. Does the HD speed affect noise, battery and heat?

    Looking to balance performance with price :)
     
  5. BigCanoe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    #5
    Are these good choices?

    Western Digital 320 GB Scorpio Black SATA 7200 RPM 16 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Notebook Hard Drive WD3200BEKT - Western Digital
    $58.63

    Crucial Technology CT25664AC800 2GB 200-pin SODIMM DDR2 PC2-6400 Memory Module
    $38.99 x 2
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    They are good. Are you sure 320GB is enough? If you want to save couple $ on the RAM, get this
     
  7. BigCanoe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    #7
    Does getting 800 vs 677 RAM make a difference? Not sure on HD size, maybe a little bigger wouldnt hurt :)
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    800MHz should work but I think it would be underclocked to 667MHz so there is no point to get 800MHz RAM.
     

Share This Page