Suggestions for upgrading RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jpeso2525, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. jpeso2525 macrumors member

    jpeso2525

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #1
    I need help with upgrading RAM in my MBP. I have 2 GB right now, I would like to have 4 GB but what do I do? I don't know what RAMs good, if it's even possible, or if I should do it myself or pay a professional to do it. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Habusho macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #3
    No need to pay a professional to do it. Just follow the guide and as long as you get laptop ram you're golden. I added 2 2GB sticks to my MBP without any problems at all.
     
  3. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #4
    I'm not an expert in RAM specs. Just wondering if the recommended OCZ above is compatible since it is PC2-6400. Looking at the specs on everymac.com a PC2-5300 is needed, same as the 2 other suggestions above.

    Also, I have bought Crucial RAM for a PowerBook and iBook and installed them easily.

    Regarding the OP's MBP, Crucial also recommends PC2-5300 RAM.

    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=DBF8AA1FA5CA7304
     
  4. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #5
    Why would you like 4GB? I wouldn't do it at all unless you're sure it'll do some good.
     
  5. rychencop macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
    #6
    what? 4Gb makes a huge difference.
     
  6. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #7
    Only if your computer actually uses it. For many people (including me) 2GB is fine.
     
  7. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #8
    It's so easy, you definitely shouldn't be worried; I've bought mine via OWC, came with a nice installation guide:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/MacBook/Pro/Core2/

    I've got a Samsung module preinstalled in my MBP, so ordered another Samsung.

    sash
     

Share This Page