Suggestions on Memory for Mid-2010 Xeon Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by NicoCollu, Mar 11, 2015.

  1. NicoCollu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    #1
    Hello everyone!

    I only have 6gb ram in my Mac Pro (2010).
    I want to upgrade to 16gb as I can feel that it is starting to slow down in terms of video editing for example or even mundane tasks.

    I was recommended this one:
    http://www.computersalg.dk/produkt/805769/kingston-
    It's a danish site but pay no attention to that.

    Are there any recommendations that you can forward or have you had any superior experience with anything you've bought and used?

    I'd love to know as it's not too easy for me to find cheap ram for this Mac Pro.

    Thank you for your time!

    / Nico Collu
     
  2. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #2
    The one you linked should work fine, and you can probably mix them with your old ram if you choose to. I've used Kingston's 4GB modules without any problem and I bought them used from Amazon Warehouse at very low price in the past. Just make sure that you can always return or exchange them if something goes wrong, otherwise any quality brand of ECC unbuffered DDR3 memory modules should work.
     
  3. NicoCollu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    #3
    Thanks for your answer!

    I have 3 2gb ram modules at the moment.

    If I remember correctly, I would not be able to set a 8 gb ram card with 3x2gb, it has to be the same amount of gbs on each card or am I wrong?

    I'd love to buy a cheaper version but I'm afraid to get the wrong one.

    But if a 8gb Kingston could fit with 3x2gb then I think that would be my choice as it would save me a lot of money!
    I'll have to research that!

    Thanks so far!

    / Nico Collu
     
  4. NicoCollu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    #4
  5. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #5
    The memory from those two links are for laptops, they are SO DIMM 204-pin, not for your MP which requires U-DIMM 240-pin.


    Actually you could just buy one 8GB module from your 1st post and mix with your current 3x2GB. Just install it in the 4th slot if 14GB is all you need. You won't get the best memory bandwidth but they should work fine together.
     
  6. NicoCollu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    #6
    My bad about the links!

    I heard that it was only available to pair trios or duos or a single of course, have I misunderstood something?

    Do you know how much the system is weakened by using 3x2gb and only 1x8gb?
     
  7. evopanop macrumors member

    evopanop

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Inland Empire, CA
    #7
    From http://macperformanceguide.com/Mac-Upgrade-MacPro-Memory.html
     
  8. NicoCollu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    #8
    Great stuff although I keep reading on other locations on the internet that it is not possible to do 3x2gb and then a 1xwhatever_gb as the Mac Pro 2010 pairs in duo's or trio's?

    Still not sure if I can then do 2x2gb and 1x8gb and 0x0 in the last slot??

    I have to keep researching!
     
  9. evopanop macrumors member

    evopanop

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Inland Empire, CA
    #9
    Yeah, I probably wouldn't match it up that way. Not sure how that would affect the memory throughput.

    Either do a trio of something (3x4GB, 3x8GB, etc.), or split the single-stick capacity of slot 3 between slots 3 and 4. For example, I currently have 4GB sticks in slots 1 and 2, and 2GB sticks in slots 3 and 4 (which equals a single 4GB stick) - giving me a total of 12GB.

    I'll be upgrading the RAM in my Mac Pro soon, as well, and I'll be getting either the 24GB (3x8GB) or 48GB (3x16GB) kit from OWC.
     
  10. NicoCollu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    #10
    Thanks for the answer although I need to save money and therefore I need to know this.

    I've created another thread for the matter of pairing ram in Mac Pro 2010 and the losses that might ensue.

    You will be powerful when you upgrade, nice!
     
  11. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    FWIW I've been using Hynix Ram for around 8 months with no issues. I have 48GB in my cMP and run a number of diagnostics and all came back clear. Quite cheap too:

    eBay

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page