Suggestions: Storage Solutions uMBP & PC

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TheSandman2236, May 26, 2009.

1. TheSandman2236 macrumors 6502

Hey everyone --

I just got my first unibody Macbook Pro & I need a few suggestions.

I currently have a pretty substantial gaming pc with a Dell 3007WFP-HC that I do 90% of my gaming with. Added to that I have a Drobo with 4x500GB' drives making a total of 1TB of usable storage. This was just fine when I didn't have a Macbook Pro ;) But now I've got multi-platform. I was wondering what the best redundant storage solution would be for me.

A few things--
    I'm a web developer/designer so I have alot of Porfolio pieces to backup plus a ton of stock/creative assets.

I've got about 40GB's of Music, 700GB's of Movies & TV shows, etc.

I'm trying to decide what would be the best route for me to got for storage/back for both my PC and Macbook. I mostly do work on the go or at work with my Macbook Pro. I'd say about 75% of it is done on my Macbook Pro.

I'd also like to get my MBP hooked up to a Time Machine to backup my 320GB OS Drive.

---------

I'm open to any solution really, even if it means selling the Drobo (Non-Firewire 800) and buying something else. I'm doing this for the long run.

Thanks again in advance for anyone help.

2. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

The most obvious solution is a Time Capsule, but I dont know if the 1TB version is big enough, and use it alongside the Mac (For Time Machine) and access the Drobo as a shared drive on the PC through the network for Movies, and Music.

3. TheSandman2236 thread starter macrumors 6502

That might work -- 1TB is more than enough storage for my Macbook Pro considering I only have ~320GB's of data on it. And you're saying hook up the drobo to the Time Capule via USB?

4. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod