Suggestions : to buy or not to buy ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by stephen85, Jan 22, 2013.

1. stephen85 macrumors member

Hi,

I would like some friendly advice as to what i should do regarding buying a macbook pro.

I'm currently a musician,producer and dj and use a core 2 duo machine as my daily driver which is far from ideal. I've hit a brick wall in terms of upgrading RAM and hard drive so now the achilles heel of the machine is the processor which in a laptop is untouchable/ non upgradable.

I have the intention of upgrading the macbook pro with a better hard drive (momentus xt 750gb) and more RAM (16gb) over the stock configuration but i understand only the non retina's are upgradable.

So my question to the forum would be:

Should i buy the current macbook pro and upgrade as intended or wait for new hardware (rumored June) and risk apple changing the macbook pro lineup like the current retina's (non upragdable) ?

Thanks for reading.

2. F1 Fan macrumors regular

F1 Fan

The retina machines can't take a hard drive. You can replace the SSD but shouldn't unless you know what you're doing. You can order a larger SSD at the time of purchase but know that this will be very expensive. There is always the option of an external HDD if you want more capacity.

The RAM cannot be upgraded later but can be spec'd up at the time of purchase as far as 16GB.

If the whole MBP line is upgraded in June (purely speculation. Personally, I suspect it'll be later than that but this too is purely speculation.) and the option you want dissappears then move quickly and you'll still be able to buy it. If you miss it, keep checking the refurbished section of the online store and see if it pops up there.