Suitable size (Time Machines) backup drive?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by macstatic, Aug 27, 2009.

1. macstatic macrumors 6502a

My wife's new iMac needs a backup drive, but I'm not sure which size to go for.
    I'm getting her a 2.5" external Firewire 800 bus-powered drive, so an unneccesarily large drive is a waste of money in my opinion.
    (if she ever does need a larger drive I can just pop in a new SATA drive mechanism in the enclosure for her).
    Currently, she's used around 80 GB of her 250 GB drive. The computer's running 10.5 Leopard, so she'll be using Time Machine (being a Tiger user myself I have no experience with Time Machine, but from what I've heard it works as advertised).

She's a "general user" -not into huge audio/visual files etc., so I don't think the drive will fill up too quickly. How big a drive compared to her Mac's internal 250GB drive should she get? Will an equally sized external drive do?
    I can also get a 320 GB drive, but it costs more of course.

2. CTJoyce macrumors member

The bigger the drive, the further back you can go with your backups. Personally when I setup all my Leopard machines to backup, I created sparcebundles on my TM destination the size of the drive itself that way I wasn't backing up really old information I wouldn't need. However to each his own. My former room-mate used a 1TB drive for his 160GB Macbook because he wanted to be able to restore every change he ever made.

So its completely up to you.

Cheers
    Cameron

3. Richard1028 macrumors 68000

Can I have a show of hands for those people with "too much" hard drive space? How about those folks that have too much space in their garage?

Yeah, I thought so.

Dude, get the larger drive. Partition off anything above 250gb for Time Machine if you want but don't get all cheap-ass on a drive that will take up the same amount of physical space and only cost a few bucks more.

4. macstatic thread starter macrumors 6502a