Super Caller ID?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MBHockey, Jul 2, 2007.

  1. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #1
  2. Kev1000000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
  3. MBHockey thread starter macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Are they AT&T numbers? Other cell numbers? Land line?

    Where are you located?
     
  4. tonyalexander macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #4
    Another thing along those lines I noticed is if you have two separate address book entries with the same number (i.e. Friend #1 is married to Friend #2 so they have different mobiles and individual address book entries but the same home # listed on both) and you get a call from the common # the caller ID shows as "First1 and First2 Last" if the last names are the same and "First1 Last1 and First2 Last2" if the last names are different.

    It's little things like that that make me dig the developers at Apple.
     
  5. ascham87 macrumors regular

    ascham87

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #5
    Mine does this. I'm located about 40 miles slightly southwest of Chicago. The number called was a US Cellular (obviously cell line). This is pretty handy!
     
  6. MBHockey thread starter macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    So it works for all your missed calls? Or just some of them?
     
  7. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #7
    I will say it is a network/phone base thing. I have had several phones that would give me what area the country the number was from. It was all based off the area code. It is not the most impressive piece of technology but a nice feature to have when screening out wrong numbers.

    I for example tend to pay no attention to any number from Houston that are not some one in my phone book. Reason for it is my number is a Houston number so a call from that area not already in my phone book is a wrong number. Plus I got tired of arguing with several companies who had my number wrong in there data base. Was really funny when I got a voice mail from some company asking for Rob about a $30,000 order that they need information on ASAP. What even sadder is my name is not Rob and I clearly stat my name my voice mail..... Poor guys. They lost quite a bit of money on that one and I had no sympathy. Oddly enough after that the number of wrong number calls I received dropped quite a bit.
     
  8. MBHockey thread starter macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    I'm surprised it does not work for New York City and NYC Suburb numbers, if it is a regional thing. Interesting.
     
  9. ascham87 macrumors regular

    ascham87

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #9
    It was more centralized than just simply the area code, at least for me. The city that the phone (cell) was registered in came up as the city. Naperville, IL, which is the same area code as all the small towns around it and the larger town by that, Aurora, IL. It works well to be honest...
     
  10. wongulous macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    #10
    My LG has done this for like 3 years... it's just a list of area codes/prefixes and their areas inside of the phone. :)

    Silly post.
     
  11. wstohner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #11
    when i click on phone, recents, and then on a number, it automatically starts to dial. how can i get the view that you see in the link? like where i can add a missed or dialed call to contacts. thanks.

    nevermind, figured it out.
     

Share This Page