Super Smash Bros on Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Arcane68, Nov 26, 2011.

  1. Arcane68 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    #1
    I have recently downloaded a .gcm file of 'Super Smash Bros Melee', i know the file type is for a Gamecube, and so i tried to open it with the Dolphin emulator, but it just crashes when it's trying to open the file.

    I have tried to change the file type to .iso to mount it. the file type change works, but it wont mount the image.....i've been mucking around with random programs like IsoBuster to try and extract things but it all seems pointless.....

    does anyone know a simple solution to just be able to play the game?
     
  2. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Buy a Gamecube or a Wii.
     
  3. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #3
    I've got a Gamecube for sale for just 20 euro, but you'll have to come to Belgium to pick it up :D
     
  4. Arcane68 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    #4
    ok let me rephrase.....does anyone know an easy solution to be able to play it on my mac computer....not a gaming console.....
     
  5. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Ignoring the fact that I am answering a question related to piracy, I'd be surprised if you could. Emulation for every other console I tried was horrible at best under OS X, so something as powerful as a gamecube? You'd need decent specs and to be running Windows, though if anyone can prove me wrong, feel free to do so.
     
  6. Kashika macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #6
    I'm playing Wind Waker and Skyward Sword on my macbook pro in higher resolutions than my Wii or Gamecube could ever handle.
    They run fine. So you are proven wrong (unless you want photoproof or anything)

    Haven't tried Smash Bros though. But do you have the latest Dolphin build? I've heard that the new version is a lot better.
     
  7. castillo4141, Dec 13, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011

    castillo4141 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #7
    Have you tried PowerISO? It only works under Windows, but has solved my problems when I'm dealing with any disc image format. You can also try Dolphin on Windows, I've never had any problem with it, on OSX I've never try it.

    Also, try to always run the latest stable version of Dolphin.

    http://www.dolphin-emulator.com/download.html
    http://www.poweriso.com/

    Oh, and regarding about power...Gamecube is really not very powerful, at least not compared to current MBPs or MBAs. Is more about software optimization, that's why I suggest you try Windows version...perhaps even using a Virtual Machine will be better than OSX version, give it a try.
     
  8. doktordoris macrumors 6502a

    doktordoris

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #8
    I assume you already own the game, and if so, you surely already own a wii or GC. SO why not just play it on that?
     
  9. Kashika macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #9
    Games look a lot better in HD. It's insane compared to the low resolution the Wii and Cube have.
     
  10. doktordoris macrumors 6502a

    doktordoris

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #10
    Actually I was being a bit snotty about the piracy issue. Its all well and good for the OP to DL a game he already owns, but otherwise he is a dirty thief.
     
  11. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #11
    If he is in the United States of Corporate America, then he is a dirty thief. According to the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DCMA) any acquisition of protected content via the internet constitutes a violation of the "circumventing copyright protection" portion of the DCMA. If he lives outside of the UScA, he may not be a dirty thief.
     
  12. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #12
    A better question is why would you want to play an action game best suited for Gamecube controllers and multiple players on the Mac?
     
  13. kaioshade macrumors regular

    kaioshade

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #13
    GC to USB adapters are easy to find, hook up multiple ones.
    Dolphin displays games at a much higher resolution than natively on a GC or Wii.

    Best question, is why WOULDNT you run GC/Wii games on Dolphin?
     
  14. matthew12 macrumors member

    matthew12

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #14
    Try the dolphin emulator. It now works on Mac!
     

Share This Page