Super Smash Brothers Brawl. Dolphin emu on i7

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by SpiffyChee, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. SpiffyChee, Jul 31, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2011

    SpiffyChee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #1
    For the record. The 11" ultimate i7 macbook air is incredible.

    I just played SSBB at a consistent 60 fps against a computer player on final destination. (Using a wired 360 controller)

    This is phenomenal performance! There was no lag whatsoever! Sure I ran the wii's native resolution on fullscreen, but that is what a wii does normally anyways.


    CPU temp was about 87 degrees Celsius after the fans got up to 6500 rpms
    It was beautiful. Oh yeah, and this is all in Lion :)


    I will let you know updates when I get my hand on 2 wiimotes so I can see if 2+ player input is as smooth. I will also make some custom stages that will have less visuals to increase speed a few fps.
     
  2. LeakedDave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    #2
    :) is all I have to say.
     
  3. maclook macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #3
    That's so cool. Thanks for reminding me about emus. If I can play Wii and PS2 games, I'm totally happy. I don't need to play current gen games on my laptop, I have dedicated consoles for that.
     
  4. fristuff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    #4
    I'd love to see a video of this in action on your new baby. Please do, if you can!
     
  5. SpiffyChee, Jul 31, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011

    SpiffyChee thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #5

    Once i get some wiimotes i just might do this.

    Also as an update. I'm using the NTSC version of brawl now and it runs at 60fps. I'm gonna see if i can boost the visuals without a fps cut.


    Update: Just tested to see if I could emulate brawl in the air's native resolution. Lag was very noticeable.
    Fullscreen though on the air works great as long as you are rendering in the wii's native resolution.
     
  6. radiohead14, Jul 31, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011

    radiohead14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    nyc
    #6
    what's the best SNES emu for OSX? i love SNES9x on Windows, but i don't think it supports Lion?

    EDIT: never mind.. SNES9x 1.53 works perfectly! gonna be playing Secret of Mana 3, Chrono Trigger, and Final Fantasy 6 :D
     
  7. Ratatapa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    #7
    Tried linking my wiimotes to darwinemu on my air but doesn't work

    any good guide?

    Also what PS2 emu for air

    gpt the 1200$ I5 13
     
  8. adamtj11 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #8
    I've been using BSNES since i got this air( i used to use SNEX9X but obviously its PowerPC. Runs great only thing is i can't seem to find full screen.

    http://www.bannister.org/software/bsnes.htm


    Oh and I tried dolphin with a wind waker iso from years ago, it was awesome playing it on a 11" screen !!
     
  9. da3dl3us macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #9
    What are the best bluetooth controllers to use? The wiimote will be limited to NES and smash bros. Thinking something for playing SNES, etc?
     
  10. maclook macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #10
    I'm also wondering what controller I should invest in for my new emus. I assume one with the most buttons will have the best compatibility (PS3 or Xbox controller).
    I like the 360 controller the best. Will that play nice with OSX and all for PS2 games etc? (I know the PS3 controller has bluetooth capabilities, but I wouldn't mind playing wired if I can use the 360 controller)
     
  11. KylePowers macrumors 68000

    KylePowers

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    #11
    I need some help too lol.

    I setup my PS3 controller (wired, as it doesn't seem to want to connect via Bluetooth) and mapped out buttons... which seems to work fine. But my question is, what kind of settings/hacks/performance modifications do you have to set with Lion to make the emu run as smoothly as possible?

    I'm trying it out on my iMac and it keeps dropping in FPS (20-30s) and speed (60%ish)... and since the 2011 27in iMac clearly has a better CPU and GPU than an MBA, it has to be some type of program configuration, right? I keep trying to change the resolutions, but it doesn't seem to help... then within a 30 seconds of starting a race (Mario Kart Wii), the program crashes.

    Can't wait to try this out on my future MBA though, once I work out all the kinks.
     
  12. radiohead14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    nyc
    #12
  13. m0thball macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #13
    Sounds awesome. Has anyone tried this on the i5?
     
  14. Fernandez21 macrumors 68040

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #14
    Has anyone made a Bluetooth controller app for the iPhone? Kinda like the itunes remote apple makes, but one that could be used as a game controler for the mac? THat would be great if it exists.
     
  15. Oppressed macrumors 65816

    Oppressed

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #15
    Search for Joypad on the iPhone store.
     
  16. adamtj11 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #16
    Me with Zelda Windwaker, got about 30FPS
     

    Attached Files:

  17. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #17
    Has anyone tried this with the 11" 2010 Air and does it work okay? I have plenty of games for the Wii but how do I import them to the Air?
     
  18. SpiffyChee thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #18
    I have all default settings except I changed my fullscreen resolution (graphics->general). Make sure the internal resolution is 640x528 though (graphics->enhanced)

    I have tried dolphin on many other computers with sketchy results. I think the sad in the air might be contributing to the performance I am getting.

    I have no tried mario kart wii yet, I will do so soon and let you know my results. to compare with my results you should probably test out SSBB if you can.
     
  19. SpiffyChee thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #19
    I will potentially try this game soon to let you know my fps.

    Your results on an i5 make sense to me though because in Brawl, if I change any settings whatsoever from the default i get poor performance. This indicates that my i7 air is BARELY fast enough to give fluent 60fps on base settings... making the i5 slightly too weak for this.
     
  20. adamtj11 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #20
    yeah i changed a couple of settings to make it run better disabled fog and something else( i read online) and it is definitely playable. if i play at resolution (1368x768) it becomes unplayable. So play at about 1024x768
     
  21. SpiffyChee thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #21
    now are you talking about internal resolution changes? or the fullscreen resolution changes. Your performance will not decrease at all if you do fullscreen resolution changes and leave internal at native.
     
  22. Oppressed macrumors 65816

    Oppressed

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #22
    Emulators are almost completely based on the CPU and almost never uses the GPU unless you enable post processor effects. Therefore the performance would be roughly 30-40% less then that of the i5/i7.
     
  23. adamtj11 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #23
    I'm talking about fullscreen, i noticed a slight drop off in fps when playing at 1368x768 compared to 1024x768, only slightly still playable with no real lag just a little bit less smooth.
     
  24. Ratatapa, Aug 2, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2011

    Ratatapa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    #24
    Edit : new question

    I have low FPS in Zelda WW

    Starting the game and it seems to laggy and buggy

    What config can i change in dolphin to help this?

    MBA 2011 I5 4gig Ram 13 inches

    Thanks
     
  25. Ratatapa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011

Share This Page