Super Talent 1.8-inch SATA 120GB SSD for $679

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Marc4, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. shrtmkr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    the apple
  2. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Yes, but it's a crappy drive; I just RMA'd mine; failed second day; it's cheaper because it uses MLC.
     
  4. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #5
    Would you say that is par for the course with all Super Talent drives? I was considering upgrading my Macbook Pro with a Super Talent 256GB drive.
     
  5. Marc4 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #6
    Is it not possible that the MBA's motherboard does have a SATA port, but Apple chose to use a PATA interface for its first-gen SSD model due to initial cost?
    I thought I read on here that someone had found the SATA controller and unused female port... so now that SATA-enabled SSD drives are cheaper, it would make more sense for Apple to use those in future MBA revisions, no?
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Well apart from the 256MB drive being $6000? Yeah that's good drive. Well you have to reach the description on the Super Talent website before you buy it; I didn't; you do not want MLC drives; they are cheaper, but they are not built to last.
     
  7. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #8
    This is simple to test. Somebody open up system profiler on their MBA and see if there's anything listed under SATA. If there's a message saying there aren't any SATA devices, the MBA doesn't have one.

    Oh, and OP, it's the right size, but not the right connection. Maybe next revision.
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    "This system does not contain any Serial-ATA devices. If you have any Serial-ATA adapters installed, please check that they are seated properly and that any devices, hubs, or switches are powered on and properly cabled."
     
  9. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #10
    Yep, that's the message I got on my PowerBook, while my Mac Pro is happy to tell me about its spare SATA ports. Therefore, the MBA does not have SATA anywhere within it.
     
  10. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #11
    I was actually looking at this drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820609304

    I'm not clear on the different types at the moment. I have not done much reading on SSD technology, but I would read considerably more before actually buying one.
     
  11. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #12
    I don't believe it's that simple. The MacBook Air uses an Intel I/O Controller Hub 8 (ICH-8) chip, which definitely contains a SATA interface. And, right next to that chip is a curiously SATA-ish connector that remains a little bit of a mystery. Some discussion here.
     
  12. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #13
    Now is this just pins or is there a legit port? i.e something we can use without a soldering iron.
     
  13. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #14
    The mysterious port next to the southbridge IC that contains a SATA controller:

    [​IMG]

    Above from John Maushammer's MacBook Air Hacking - USB Ports page.
     
  14. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #15
    I suppose it physically has a port, but it's kinda far away from the HD. It would be nice to see some hacking (I know somebody hacked a mobile broadband card via those unused usb ports).
     
  15. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #16
    Oh, that's nice. I wonder if this is the entire thing (power also).

    If so, this should be doable with a source for cables, etc.
     
  16. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    Yeah that's the one I bought and broke in 2 days due to cell failure.
     
  17. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #18
    Different speed
    Slower than laptop HD = least expensive, but still costs more than laptop HD
    Similar to laptop HD speed = more expensive
    Faster speed than desktop drives = premium pricing, only for professionals or those with deep wallet.


    SSD drives posted by OP and you are in the first category.
     
  18. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #19
    Are there any of the "Faster speed than desktop drives" category currently available via retailers like Newegg.com that would speed up a Macbook Pro an appropriate amount and would the Macbook Pro actually be able to take advantage of it? (Mid 2007 Macbook Pro 2.4GHz Merom with Santa Rosa)
     
  19. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #20
    A good find, but not SATA. SATA is 7 data + 9 power (4 power, 5 ground; why SATA is hot-pluggable). That port looks to have 32 pins.
     
  20. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #21
    Perhaps I wasn't clear. It's a mysterious port with unknown purpose, sitting directly next to an Intel ICH-8 chip that contains a SATA controller.
     
  21. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #22
    Yeah SSDs with SLC; For example the Mitron 128GB SSD
     
  22. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #23
    Which retailer is it available at? I've contacted our suppliers about it and I've also searched Google without any luck at finding the pricing or availability.
     
  23. Mactagonist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NYC - Manhattan
    #24
    That is because it is called "mtron" not "mitron". He made a typo.
     
  24. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #25
    I can definitely see the speed, but I have to agree with Engadget after checking with our suppliers. I'll be sticking with platters for now. :D
     

Share This Page