Superdrive in external enclosure

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by S-mac-k, Jun 23, 2011.

1. S-mac-k macrumors member

Guys, forgive me for asking this but I just can't seem to work it out as I'm new to mac.

Done the conversion. Got the ssd bla bla bla...connected my superdrive into an external enclosure but it doesn't appear at all anywhere on the system?

Can anyone throw any pointers my way please.

Thanks in advance.

2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

bozz2006

The optical drive doesn't appear anywhere? Sorry, I'm a little unclear on what the issue is. Can you please describe the problem a little more specifically?

3. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

basesloaded190

So are you saying when you put a disk in the drive, nothing happens?

4. S-mac-k thread starter macrumors member

My superdrive was removed when I bought an ssd which I installed in my main hd bay. I installed the stock in the optibay and now have the superdrive in an external enclosure that I just can't get to work? Does not show anywhere on the system? Is there a bios I can get into to check to see if the drive is being picked up? I'm confused. Thanks.

5. S-mac-k thread starter macrumors member

Yeah doesn't work properly? I've restarted and still it does not show?

6. awer25 macrumors 65816

awer25

7. S-mac-k thread starter macrumors member

sorry for sounding thick here but how'd I do that? Just had a scan round the system and I must be blind. I could do it on pc. I had half a clue. Mac is like starting all over again.

8. ikm19 macrumors 6502

ikm19

Did u insert any cd in superdrive. i know i sound silly but something the problem is just a basic one.

9. S-mac-k thread starter macrumors member

I must be the biggest retard on here.

i didn't push the disc far enough into the drive.

I'm going to walk out of my house, find the first person I can and ask them to punch me in the face.

Apologies for wasting your time. Hope I made you laugh at my complete stupidity!