Superdrive running through USB 2.0 hub?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by aussieinrome, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. aussieinrome macrumors regular

    aussieinrome

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Rome, Italy.
    #1
    Does anyone know if the MBA Superdrive will work though a 2 or 4 port bus powered USB 2.0 hub?

    Also does anyone know of a cool looking small 2 port hub that's on the market.

    :)
     
  2. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #2
    No. The USB port on the MBA has been beefed up so that it can supply the necessary power to the superdrive so it doesn't need any external power brick. Unfortunately that means that it won't work anywhere else.
     
  3. aussieinrome thread starter macrumors regular

    aussieinrome

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Rome, Italy.
    #3
    Bummer, I wanted to be able to use a USB 2 external HDD with the Superdrive at the same time, so this is impossible then?
    :confused:
     
  4. /"\/oo\/"\ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
  5. JAdmiral macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #5
    Ok, good reply, but what if I need the superdrive and an Ethernet connection at the same time? Or let's go to extremes: Superdrive, USB Ethernet, and non-bluetooth wireless mouse. Obviously I'll need more than one USB port, and a hub would take care of that. But there might not be enough power to make sure all USB devices work. Would a powered hub then make it all work?

    Thank you.
     
  6. Seth Hawkins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    NC, USA
    #6
    Necessity is the Mother of Invention

    It appears there's a need for an "adapter" that would permit the use of a USB hub with the MBA's single USB port.
     
  7. aussieinrome thread starter macrumors regular

    aussieinrome

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Rome, Italy.
    #7
    I'm with you two, it seems a little strange that something as simple as running the USB Ethernet and Superdrive at the same time isn't possible.
     
  8. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #8
    It's most likely the 'Appleness' of it - the slot load - that takes it above the 500ma requirement. Or perhaps it's just not a very current technology inside (wouldn't surprise me with Apple), since I can buy a bus-powered Lightscribe drive for Windows machines.

    My guess is that they didn't put too much thought into it. There are a few things about the drive that says afterthought: The drive and unit don't share the same design language and the cable whips around with nowhere to be stored. Anyone who's seen a Sony, Samsung (their crack at an ultraportable has a 6-pin Firewire port, and ships with a FW optical with cable management) and even Dell will point and laugh at the superficially attractive yet incompetent design/engineering of the Superdrive.
     
  9. acarle208 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008

Share This Page