Superduper and backup questions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by cool11, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. cool11 macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #1
    I use superduper to clone my mbp hard drive.
    I use smart update. Do you think it is the best option? Does it transfer only what changed from the last backup?
    And what about files that now do not exist on the original hard drive?
    Does it adds space on its backup data all the time? My hard drive occupy about 40mb and it is has total 120mb. If it do not delete files that do not exist now, it will need so much space on my external hard disk in the future.

    Answer if you know how it works.

    You can also tell me any good backup plan you do about your data backup. Except from superduper I write my data files to dvd for extra security.

    Is it better from time to time to stop doing another smart backup with superduper and start from scratch doing a whole new backup?
     
  2. justG macrumors member

    justG

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL, US
    #2
    I don't intend to be mean, but did you read the SuperDuper! screen at all? You don't even have to read the application's Help, it tells you right in the app window itself exactly what it does. SmartUpdate copies and deletes data on the target drive until it exactly matches the source.
     
  3. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #3
    justG thanks for mentioning this one.

    Except from this I would like to know other related things about it.

    Does this smart update is reliable as a whole backup? Does anyone needed to make restoration using a backup made of smaller smart backups?

    It is all about a bad moment that somebody would need the backup.
    It is all about restore it and actually have a system that works.

    Any related experience would help me.

    In windows environment I had lot of frustration when I thought I was safe and my acronis backup did not work at all!

    I must admit that I have boot my mbp with the external disk (backup of internal disk using superduper) but I am new to mac world and I have fears from my windows experiences.
     
  4. justG macrumors member

    justG

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL, US
    #4
    They're both paths to the same destination: a clone of your startup disk. The SuperDuper! SmartUpdate function is just like taking the highway instead of local roads. =)

    I've been using SuperDuper! for a while now, a couple of months if I remember correctly. I clone my startup disk (a partition on my primary drive) to a partition on my secondary drive (both internal). I've used SuperDuper!'s straight-up clone function to restore my "clean slate" partition to my startup disk, a process that took about 3 minutes. I've also booted to the SmartUpdate backup on a few occasions, in order to perform repairs on my startup disk. Basically, no matter what I've done, I've never had any problems.

    I understand being worried about your data, but it's technology. Things mess up, and there's nothing that's totally fool-proof, imo. (I should know, I've done plenty of "fool"ish things to test the theory. :D) If the integrity of your data is a mission- or business-critical concern, your best bet is to keep an on-site backup and an off-site one.

    In any case, I think that you're safe with SuperDuper!.

    Hope that helps.
     
  5. NuDarwin macrumors member

    NuDarwin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    #5
    can't you just boot off of the cloned drive to test the backup?
     
  6. ogee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Earth.
    #6
    Backup Strategy

    Having just had a HD directory corruption, and an out of date backup, I am looking for a new backup strategy (as soon as DiskWarrior has recovered my files).

    I really dont know where to look for the "best" solution. I have been using ibackup (?) from .mac, but I cant say I like it much. I am thinking about SuperDuper! as it looks good, and it can make bootable backups, but Im also a bit confused by it.

    When I tried SuperDuper! it made my destination disk, firewire, bootable and set the default system boot to the external drive...why? I dont see the point of booting externally, except to restore. It has slowed my system down a lot. On the other hand, the backup is reasonable fast so I could schedule an automatic backup of the system every week. Can it also do incremental backups or child, father grandfather schemes?

    What other (cheap reliable bootable) solutions are there?
     
  7. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #7
    Out of curiosity, what caused the corruption? Bad hardware? An OS screw up?

    (Super Duper! is free, right?)
     
  8. ogee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Earth.
    #8

    SuperDuper! is partially free I think, I got nag screens.


    As for the screw up, Im not sure. My system usually runs 24/7, but was shut down for 3 weeks whilst we were on holiday. On my return I got an upgrade MS Office message and that failed (cant find correct program or something). At about the same time an Apple upgrade started. I also had a file in the trash bin that I could not delete, and I moved it out of the bin to another disk and deleted it there without problems.

    Then I ran disk utilities and it reported node corruption (?). Booted to the install CD to make a repair and bang, faild with fatal errors can not repair disk etc and after that it could not be mounted.

    I have downloaded diskwarrior and recovered my files.DW reports no hardwarer problems so I am now 35 x ersed disk before I repartition and re-install the OS. (I think a 50GB partition will be more than enough, yes / no?)
     
  9. dolphin842 macrumors 65816

    dolphin842

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    #9
    SuperDuper usually doesn't change your default boot disk, though there is an option to do that in the "On successful completion" drop-down box; make sure you don't have "Set [external disk] as Startup Disk" selected there.

    SuperDuper + external firewire drive is currently my backup method of choice. Erasing and cloning is free; the Smart Update functionality (identical to Erase and Clone, but takes 8 minutes instead of 1.5 hours) and other stuff requires the $27 license. Personally, Smart Update has saved my posterior on one occasion when a drive died, so I feel I've got my money's worth ;).

    One thing this system doesn't protect against, though, is silent data corruption. For example, there was some random file deep in my drive that got corrupted. SuperDuper actually prevented me from updating my backup because of this file. The only option was to delete it in order to get the backup rolling again. This is where an internal and external drive linked up in a ZFS mirror would be superior, because of all the checksumming and behind-the-scenes replacement likely would have 'healed' the corrupt file.

    Until we get ZFS though, SuperDuper + bootable external drive works for me.
     
  10. ogee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Earth.
    #10
    It looks like I had selected that option. My system is almost back to how I want it, and I have started another backup, before I move some files and make it "final".

    I think I will be buying SuperDuper! next month as well.
     
  11. Philly macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Hi!
    I have had SuperDuper! for months now but It is only today that I have to use it to restore my primary.

    When I open SuperDuper! it only gives me the option to "Copy" from one drive to another. Is this the same as restoring, or should there be a "Restore" option available to choose?

    I know that I can do it through Disk Utility, but I really want to try it with SuperDuper.

    Thanks,

    Philly
     
  12. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Yeah Philly, copying deletes the original, so you are making the second drive hold exactly the same data as the one you are copying from :)
     
  13. Philly macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Hi, thanks...

    So if I "Copy" from my external (the clone backup) "to" Macintosh HD it will erase the Hard drive and replace it with an exact copy of my backup?
     

Share This Page