Superduper and Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by EV0LUTION, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. EV0LUTION macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    I just received a copy of snow leopard (the WWDC preview) from work and I would like to upgrade my mac, however I'm scared I will loose all my data in the process and the world as I know it will end. (I have a time machine though)

    I was thinking, can I make a bootable copy of my current disk (which is leopard) with SuperDuper, boot into that hard drive and upgrade it to snow leopard; with out any changes being made to my MBP's hard drive? Basicaly have no changes made to my MBP's internal HDD so I can boot back into leopard.

    Just to clarify, this procedure in theory should work:

    1. User SuperDuper to make a Clone of internal HDD to External HDD

    2. Boot into Cloned External HDD

    3. Install Snow Leopard on Cloned External HDD

    4. Have fun in Snow Leopard Land on Cloned External HDD

    5. Restart and boot back into Leopard (10.5) on internal HDD
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    A Time Machine backup and/or a clone beforehand is fine.
     
  3. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #4
    Of course you should backup. When I installed SL it was automatically and update install. Nothing was deleted... but search these forums for advice before you install.
     
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #5
    Why is your work giving out copies of 10.6 when you have no idea how to install it?
     
  5. EV0LUTION thread starter macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Because I, being the curious person I am, asked for it.

    We have 2 copies and they let me have one overnight to install it or try this, which I hope works.
     
  6. EV0LUTION thread starter macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Just to clarify, this procedure in theory should work:

    1. User SuperDuper to make a Clone of internal HDD to External HDD

    2. Boot into Cloned External HDD

    3. Install Snow Leopard on Cloned External HDD

    4. Have fun in Snow Leopard Land on Cloned External HDD

    5. Restart and boot back into Leopard (10.5) on internal HDD
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Why not install Snow Leopard on the external and migrate over your user instead?
     
  8. EV0LUTION thread starter macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    I tried around 5:30, Formatted External to GUID and what now, half way through the process SL rebooted my system or something and the whole upgrade quit
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Bring up the installer log and have it show everything when you're booted off of the DVD.
     
  10. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #11
    When at all possible, avoid Migration Assistant.

    The OP's original plan was perfectly sound, and will work great. When you are confident that SL is going to work for you, clone the external over to the internal drive and use the external for TM.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    What wrong with Migration Assistant for the user space?
     
  12. EV0LUTION thread starter macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    I think it tried to boot off the dvd, but instead ended up doing a normal restart.

    I started the upgrade while my mac was on, should I boot into the CD?

    Sorry I sound so newbish here guys, I'm a web designer and hardly ever do anything like this.
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    Unless they've completely changed the installer it'll have you boot off of the DVD if you use Finder to change your startup disk and reboot.

    Otherwise holding down Option or 'C' after the boot tone does effectively the same thing sans privileges.
     
  14. EV0LUTION thread starter macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    TM?
     
  15. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #16
    In theory nothing, but I've seen it screw up plenty of machines in one way or another. You're transplanting a user into a new system.

    It certainly has its uses, but if you don't need it's functionality, it is inferior to a clone.
     
  16. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #17
    Time Machine
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    The clone is going to be much more time consuming though in this case and not really necessary with Migration Assistant and Time Machine.
     
  18. EV0LUTION thread starter macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    ah OK, I did boot off the DVD, however half way through the process it decided to reboot, (i'm assuming to the DVD) but instead of booting to the DVD it went back to my desktop.

    I have removed the DVD since as I gave up at one point, until I had this little epiphany, so I don't know how to get at the installation data.
     
  19. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #20
    If the installer fails, since you booted off of the DVD using the keyboard shortcuts, it will default back to your original startup volume which is going to be the onboard disk in this case.
     
  20. EV0LUTION thread starter macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #21
    Crap...

    OK well I guess I'll give this Clone Idea a go, and let you guys know how it works out.

    From the posts above, it sounds like a clone is the best way to go here.
     
  21. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #22
    It is if you have the time to spare.
     
  22. EV0LUTION thread starter macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #23
    I do, nothing but Calc homework and TV watching to do
     
  23. badgolfer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #24
     
  24. EV0LUTION thread starter macrumors 6502

    EV0LUTION

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #25
     

Share This Page