SuperDuper! or Time Machine?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by OrangeSVTguy, Dec 5, 2008.

1. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

OrangeSVTguy

So what does everyone mainly use for their backups? I've never used Time Machine before but I've used SuperDuper! quite a bit, is the automatic backup feature on SD! better then TM? If so then I'd rather buy the full version of SD! then use TM. I just bought a 500gb drive so I'm going to be picking up another for my backup. For Time Machine should the drive be bigger then the Target drive or is the same size OK?

What do you use and/or what do you prefer? Thanks.

2. danny_w macrumors 601

Time Machine and SuperDuper! are NOT competing products; each serves a specific purpose that the other does not (or not well). I use both regularly both at home and at work. TM provides a rolling backup in time and is great for recovering a file that you may have deleted recently or even months ago, but is not a viable solution for a full restore IMHO and cannot provide a bootable image. SuperDuper! OTOH is great for creating a bootable clone that can be used to recover quickly from an OS upgrade that went wrong or a hard disk crash, but cannot be used to recover files that did not exist at the time of the last backup. They each serve their intended purposes well. If I had a choice of only one, however, I would unhesitatingly go with SuperDuper! (full version).

EDIT: BTW, the Leopard versions of SD! support putting TM backups on the same disk partition as your clone. SD will not erase or change these TM backups when it updates the clone image. I have never used this capability, as I keep my SD and TM backups on separate drives.

3. chatoyer macrumors regular