SuperDuper! vesus Carbon Copy?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by majordude, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. majordude macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    On the basic level, yes.

    On a higher level, no.

    If you pay for SuperDuper!, it allows for a smart backup, which really means that it's an incremental copy & replace. Seriously reducing clone time. I believe paid SD! also provides for some sort of timed automation.

    Back in Jaguar days (where there was nothing else), CCC was the way to go. I've been an SD! man for a few years now.
     
  3. lugesm macrumors 6502a

    lugesm

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #3
    Does SD! provide a bootable backup such that if the Mac HD fails, one can boot with a full system identical to the one that existed on the failed hard drive?
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    yes it does. Have booted of my superduper drive many times now.
     
  5. lugesm macrumors 6502a

    lugesm

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for the prompt reply. I just bought another external HD for my iMac. The existing external HD is used for Time Machine.

    I am hoping that I can run both drives, the second with SuperDuper as a bootable reserve in case of disaster within the iMac.
     
  6. -Alan- macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    #6
    Yes. But I'm waiting for a Leopard compatible update. Hopefully it'll be soon...Time Machine just isn't enough. :)
     
  7. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #7
    That is exactly what I am doing.:)
     
  8. lugesm macrumors 6502a

    lugesm

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #8
    Very helpful. Thank you!

    I am new to the Mac (15 years of Windows in the dark past). May I contact you if I get confused as I set up the 2 ext HD system?

    Thanks,
    LGS
     
  9. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #9
    Yeah sure thing, no worries. But as -Alan- said Super Duper only has preliminary support for Leopard at the moment. Haven't used it myself on Leopard yet. So perhaps it would be best to wait until that is sorted out before using it.
     
  10. lugesm macrumors 6502a

    lugesm

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #10
    Good advice. Thank you. I'll wait and watch.

    Regards,
    LGS
     
  11. majordude thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #11
    Hmmm. Doesn't sound like anyone uses Carbon Copy anymore. I guess I'll try SD! too.
     
  12. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #12
    I used to use it in my PPC days but then the switch to Intel meant that it was broke and/or very annoying. So I went looking for alternatives and came to superduper. Since then it has worked perfectly for me and the smart update (paid version) has made backing up a very quick process (15 minutes). So I have never felt the need to go back to CCC.
     

Share This Page