Resolved Supplemental update problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by adamhenry, Apr 17, 2015.

  1. adamhenry, Apr 17, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015

    adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #1
    After the update About This Mac has strange storage information. iStat Menu information is incorrect also.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Just run this command in Terminal to reindex Spotlight and it will fix that.

    Code:
    sudo mdutil -E /
     
  3. adamhenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #3
    I've already done that but will try again.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    It can take an hour or so to complete, so make sure you wait until it is done. :)
     
  5. adamhenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #5
    I only have OS files on the drive (about 26GB) so it only takes a few minutes. I can tell by watching CPU activity. I just ran it twice and CPU is back to 99% idle. No change in symptoms.

    Did you notice that it is showing 140.74TB of Backup but the verbiage above the graphic shows the correct numbers?
     
  6. adamhenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #6
    iStat Menu information is wrong as well. I only wish I had 140.96TB free:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. adamhenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #7
    I accidentally fixed this while working on something else. I saved an invoice from a website to the desktop as a PDF. After attaching the PDF to a mail, I trashed it. I couldn't empty the trash though. I finally executed: sudo rm -rf ~/.Trash/ to empty the trash. Now About This Mac and iStat menus has correct disk usage info?????? :confused::confused::confused:
     
  8. diesel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #8
    Sounds like you might have bigger lurking issues of you need to issue commands into terminal manually to empty your trash.
     
  9. adamhenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #9

    It was only one file that was a problem. When I attempted to empty trash, I got a dialog box saying that file was in use. I attached it to an email and had sent the email. I'm not sure why it was thought to be in use.
     

Share This Page