Supply situation "when" the iPhone 5 comes out

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by emir, Aug 28, 2011.

1. emir macrumors 6502a

emir

Hi there i am an ancient iPhone 3G owner here who is pretty much sick of the outdatedness and slowness. I've been using my phone for almost 3 years now.(impressive for an iPhone) I had to change the LCD once but other than that everything's ok.

Anyways let's cut to the chase. I live in Turkey, the iPhone 4 came out June of '10. It became available here on October and there were serious stock shortage problems, it was impossible to find an iPhone 4. That shortage continued for months. I think that problem was worldwide, i'm not sure tho(would be great if someone made that clear). That shortage occurred when the demand for iPhone 4 wasn't as high as it is now. Everybody i talk to nowadays wait the iPhone 5. There is a huge demand. Do you think Apple is ready for this type of demand? MY phone is reeeeallllly old and i've been waiting since May. I don't want to wait for it another month to find out i can't get one because of supply issues. Actually, it will begin sales later in Turkey(at least 2-3 months after US date) but i will find a way to get an unlocked version from the US.(that dream can go down the drain too if it happens to be a sim-less version) Which i think is going to be a pretty hard quest, again considering the demand this thing has.(even when people don't know how it will be like)

So what do you think? Is Apple and FoxConn ready to deliver? Maybe "this" is what's taking so long for them to announce it already. They're secretly producing millions of it?

I just wanna hear some thoughts.

2. xdbuix macrumors 6502

In my opinion, the next iphone will be like any other iPhone, sold out and hard to find. I am sure the iPhone is currently being made in factories, but as history states, iPhone supply has a hard time meeting demand at launch.

3. PharmDoc macrumors 6502