Sure this will be easy...

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by benwalker82, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. benwalker82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #1
    I know there's going to be something really obvious that I've missed here, but I'd like someone to point it out to me and make me feel really stoopid!

    Have recently written a basic website for my father's business, my rusty html has taken a looooong time to debug, but all works now... with one exception.

    Where I've used a £ in text it appears on the page as £ - what've I missed??!!

    Forgot to say it's live at www.lyndhurst.eu.com
     
  2. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #2
    Well first off when clicking on the link of being interested in this property I get a URL not found.

    Just a thought but if your HTML was rusty than why not just go and use iWeb?
     
  3. &Ingonyama macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    Add:

    Code:
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
    In the head or..

    Try encoding the pound sign like: £
     
  4. mat4020 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Zhuhai, China
    #4
    Try using the ascii html character code.

    Code:
    & # 163 ;
    (no spaces)
     
  5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    The £ showed up properly for me, but I also have my browser set to default to UTF-8. I didn't see any character set declarations in your HTML. See &Ingonyama's post for more details on that.
     
  6. benwalker82 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #6
    Thank you.

    Thanks to all of you - think it's fixed now!
     
  7. a cat *miaow* macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #7
    You might want to get rid of the frame-based layout to at least get some search engine ranking.
     

Share This Page