surf internet and talk on phone at sametime

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by koopa35, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. koopa35 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    im sure it will drain your battery but if u have wifi on and conected to it.. u can sure and talk at same time.. thats pretty cool
     
  2. weeman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    #2
    You can also do it with the iPhone 3G if you have a 3G connection

    Doesn't work on edge though..
     
  3. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #3
    I think that was one of their selling points for the 3G iPhone, b/c as ^^^ stated, v1 iPhone didn't have that feature with EDGE.
     
  4. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #4
    It's not really a "feature" but a limitation with GSM, not the iPhone's problem.

    3G (WCDMA) will let you use the data connection and talk at the same time.
     
  5. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #5
    You can also listen to the iPod and surf at the same time!
     
  6. protekt0r macrumors regular

    protekt0r

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #6
    Umm... AFAIK WCDMA still does not support simultaneous voice and data. The last 3G CDMA phone I had w/ Verizon (a BB Curve) didn't allow me to do that. Then again neither did my GSM 3G Palm Treo 750.

    The iPhone 3G is the first phone I've ever seen work with both data and voice at the same time. Just the other day I was talking to a friend who was telling me about a youtube video... i was able to watch the video while still having him on the phone. Again, AFAIK, such things are still not possible on CDMA. I've certainly never seen it demostrated or advertised.
     
  7. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #7
    Ummm, your iPhone 3G uses WCDMA for 3G service as does the Palm Treo 750 so why it didn't work on your Palm is beyond me.
     
  8. mmoosa macrumors 6502

    mmoosa

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    and...surprise surprise....the wonderful phone CRASHES!!! I'm reaching my tether!:mad:
     
  9. bluenoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #9
    I was able to talk and surf on my prior AT&T 3G WinMo phones, too. I could be on a handsfree (BlueTooth) call in my car while Googling information. Pretty slick.

    ETA: Before someone jumps on me for doing this while driving, I wasn't driving. In one case, I was parked in a parking lot. Other times, my wife was driving.
     
  10. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #10
    One of the reasons I want to upgrade. I don't know how many times I am talking and want to que something up and I can't.....

    But at least you can do it with 3g......
     
  11. protekt0r macrumors regular

    protekt0r

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #11
    nevermind
     
  12. protekt0r macrumors regular

    protekt0r

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #12
    I tried it using the Treo 750 and the original blackjack. In both cases it would always tell me data wasn't available. Maybe it was a handset thing. Which phones were you using?
     
  13. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #13
    Works on AT&T. Yes users can talk and perform data functions at the same time with the 3G iphone while on 3G connection. You should read reviews before posting your unfounded speculation.

    Read this page:
    http://www.apple.com/iphone/features/wireless.html

    Some non-approved carriers don't have it set up properly.
     
  14. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #14
    One of the phones was a blackjack II and as long as I had 3g service it wasn't a problem. Sounds to me like you were not getting a 3g connection (at least with the trek).
     
  15. bluenoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #15
    I had a Blackjack, but I disabled 3G on it due to the extremely-weak battery life. My next phone was a Blackjack II which worked and then a Moto Q9h, which also worked. I have decent 3G coverage in my area, so it was on 3G when I did it.
     
  16. zephead macrumors 68000

    zephead

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    in your pants
    #16
    Quick note: WCDMA ≠ CDMA. WCDMA is a technology used by UMTS (successor to GSM). cdmaOne (2G) and CDMA2000 (2.5/3G) are technologies used by CDMA.
     

Share This Page