Surfing web while on phone w/Verizon

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jsf721, Oct 28, 2014.

  1. jsf721 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Li, NY
  2. legioxi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #2
    Yes with caveats:

    • You must be on LTE.
    • You must have LTE mode set to Data+Voice.
    • You cannot switch to 3G mid call - the call will drop - you must stay in LTE service for the duration of the call.
     
  3. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #3
    It works great on my 6 and 6 Plus. Now I can finally switch back to Verizon.
     
  4. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #4
    +1 Yup.

    Also, it must be turned on/activated both on the phone and on the account. Simple enough through phone's settings and MyVerizon.com
     
  5. jsf721 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Li, NY
    #5
    Thank you everyone.

     
  6. michael5150 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    #6
    I actually confirmed this feature on my iphone 5. I talked with a vzw rep and she said it will work with any iphone5 or newer with iOS8 --
     
  7. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    Have you actually tried it? I don't believe it will work, it should be iPhone 6 only. However, I could be incorrect. I suggest you give it a try if you haven't already.
     
  8. michael5150 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    #8
    Yes, I have. that's what I meant by confirmed. :)
     
  9. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #9
    The feature wasn't available w/my iPhone 5 before I traded it in, but it was immediately available w/my iPhone 6. FWIW.
     
  10. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #10
    Has worked on my 5S since day one. You just have to be on LTE with data+voice.

    It has nothing to do with the phone really, it was a network limitation. When Verizon rolled out LTE, that solved the problem.
     
  11. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #11
    Strange, this was not available on either my iPhone 5 or iPhone 5s. I don't assume you are both lying (why would you), but can you take screenshots of being on a call and having LTE showing still in the status bar?
     
  12. mnsportsgeek macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #12
    It doesn't work on my 5s. I have no option to activate it on the phone.

    I think these guys are either confused or lying.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Everything is false with the above post.
    Only works with Verizon on iPhone 6 and 6 plus.
    It has everything to do with the phone.
     
  14. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #14
    You guys are actually correct and I recant my comments. I was connected to wifi.... My bad.
     
  15. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #15
    Da flake indeed. :rolleyes:
     
  16. daflake, Oct 30, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2014

    daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #16

    LOL, was an honest mistake. ;) Just joined Verizon a few months ago and learning their nuances.

    CDMA is the limitation and the way I understand it (now) is that when a call is made, the phone actually rolls back to CDMA as LTE (not VoLTE) is data only. Please correct me if I am wrong. The iPhone6 can use VoLTE which is why it can do both...
     
  17. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #17
    No worries. We've all been there. Just thought it was funny considering your username.

    There are people who are far more versed and knowledgable than I, but as I understand it, with VOLTE they just have the voice & the date both going over LTE, but the voice isn't counted against your data.
     
  18. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #18
    It was chosen for a very specific reason! :p :eek:
     
  19. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #19
  20. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #20
  21. michael5150 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    #21
    I stand corrected. It does NOT work on my iphone 5... I was connected to wifi -- good catch.
     
  22. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #22
    It takes a big man to admit it. :D

    Glad we got it cleared up for everyone. :apple:
     
  23. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #23
  24. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #24
    You're making statements that are incomplete/untrue regardless of forum, and I'm not your bud.

    Apology accepted. Sucks to be you.
     
  25. willmtaylor, Oct 30, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2014

    willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #25
    "in context" or "connotation" =/= "untrue"

    "Sucks to be you"? Now there's a quality pre-pubescent burn.
     

Share This Page