Suspend or Shut Off Windows ??

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by fab5freddy, May 9, 2009.

  1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    When i close down my VMware fusion, it asks me whether to
    shut down or suspend my Windows OS.

    What is best to do, Suspend or Shut Down ?

    thanks!
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Suspend is like sleeping, so it will be alright using that.
     
  3. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #3
    but i guess sleeping uses some memory and other stuff,
    that i could use for Mac Partition......?
     
  4. u49aa2 macrumors 6502a

    u49aa2

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Location:
    Between Heaven and Hell
    #4
    I would just shut it down if you are not planning to go back to windows soon
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    No it won't use any memory (RAM), if you suspend Windows using VMWare Fusion, as you close Fusion. It just writes the suspend state to the file Fusion uses for storing the Windows OS.

    Suspending lets you continue in Windows where you left it.

    If you are worried about speed during starting Windows, you could time both methods (suspend and shut off, which means you have to boot Windows again, if you want to access it) and see which is faster.

    I always use suspend, and experience no memory lag after I close Fusion.
     
  6. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell

Share This Page