Suspicious response from Apple Tech Support

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lawclerk, Jul 30, 2007.

1. lawclerk macrumors member

I called Apple Tech support about my cracked MB palmrest today.

This MB is well within the year warranty. Purchased it 9.22.06 and today is 7.30.07.

First guy told me that I was out of warranty, and I could either purchase one over the phone with him, or bring it in to the store. I told him that I was still within the year, and for him to explain how I wasn't within the year. I also told him I couldn't afford to buy an Applecare warranty because I'm a 3rd year law student... Then he cut me off and transferred me to Education support.

The lady I spoke to is sending a box to send it back tomorrow. I asked her about the warranty and she said I was within the year warranty. This is really worrisome to me. I told her about what the guy said, and she said that he must have typed in the wrong serial #, but he knew my name/address, so I know that he had it right...

Is there anything I should do about this? Or just let it go? I really think he was trying to induce me to buy a warranty for an obvious case defect. :confused::confused:

2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

rdowns

Step back from the ambulance. :D

Were the unit out of warranty, he could not offer you AppleCare. Sounds like an honest mistake.

3. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

There are good employees and bad employees at every company. If you don't hear what you want to hear, ask to speak to someone else. If that doesn't work, hang up and call back and try again with the next person who answers the phone. Sounds like you got a decent person on the second try and now your problem is solved. Not much more you can do.

4. lawclerk thread starter macrumors member

Yeah... I want to believe that it was an honest mistake... He didn't speak English well, so maybe it was just a misunderstanding. Oh well.:apple:

5. kuebby macrumors 68000

kuebby