swap management

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mulo, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #1
    there is a command called "purge" it cleans up your RAM
    is there a command to move swap to RAM or clear it?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Mac OS X manages RAM without any need for user intervention.
     
  3. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #3
    although not very efficiently.

    sitting here with 500MB swap and 4GB free memory, where's the logic?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    If you wanted to, you can go into Unix underbelly and mess with it.

    But likely mess something up at the same time.
     
  6. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #6
    do teach
     
  7. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #7
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    It doesn't matter what you asked. Your post indicated a lack of understanding of OS X memory management. I posted relevant information. If you don't choose to learn, that's completely up to you. :rolleyes:
     
  9. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #9
    if it doesn't matter what I asked then go ahead, tell me everything I need to know in life.
     

Share This Page